State of Illinois JB Pritzker, Governor

Department of Agriculture Jerry Costello II, Director

Du Quoin State Fair <mark>Luke Davison, Manager</mark>



2024 Du Quoin State Fair LIVESTOCK PREMIUM BOOK



DU QUOIN STATE FAIR

August 23 - September 2, 2024

ADMISSIONS

No Admission Fee	Free
PARKING	\$7.00
INSIDE PARKING	\$12.00

CONTENTS

Governor's Welcome	2
Director's Welcome	4
Livestock Schedule	7
Exhibition Animal Health Requirements	8
Animal Care, Drugs, Testing and Violations and Penalties	14
Livestock Division Announcements and General Rules	21
Department A - Beef Cattle	31
Department B - Dairy Cattle	50
Department C - Draft Horses, Ponies and Mules	58
Department D - Sheep	64
Department E - Swine	69
Department F - Dairy Goats	
Department G - Meat Goats	
Donors	

For Additional Information: Du Quoin State Fair 655 Executive Drive Du Quoin, IL 62832 Attn: Danette Mohr 618/542-1509 or 618/542-1525 FAX 618/542-1541

Printed by Authority of the State of Illinois



Office of the Governor

207 State House Springfield, Illinois 62706

JB Pritzker Governor

Sincerely,

JB Pritzker Governor

MK Pritzker First Lady





JB Pritzker, Governor Jerry Costello II, Director Office of the Director

State Fairgrounds • P.O. Box 19281 • Springfield, IL 62794-9281 • 217/782-2172 • TDD 217/524-6858 • Fax 217/785-4505

Jerry Contetts ou Costto

Jerry and Lori Costello



GENERAL LIVESTOCK DEPARTMENT Open and Junior Livestock Divisions

General Livestock SuperintendentDr. Brian SagerAssistant General Livestock SuperintendentDr. Larry WilsonAssistant General Livestock SuperintendentEd Whitcomb

State Fair Administration and Oversight

BY PARTICIPATING IN THE DU QUOIN STATE FAIR, ALL EXHIBITORS AGREE TO ABIDE BY THIS PREMIUM BOOK AND ALL STATUTES AND ADMINISTRATIVE RULES. THE ILLINOIS DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE SHALL SOLELY INTERPRET AND UPHOLD THESE RULES, IN ORDER TO PRESERVE THE QUALITY AND STANDARDS OF THE DU QUOIN STATE FAIR AND PROTECT THE SAFETY, SECURITY, AND WELL-BEING OF STATE FAIR EXHIBITORS, VISITORS AND EXHIBITED ANIMALS. IT IS A PRIVILEGE TO EXHIBIT AT THE DU QUOIN STATE FAIR AND THE ILLINOIS DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE RESERVES THE RIGHT TO DISQUALIFY AND REMOVE ANY ANIMAL AND/OR PERSON.

WHILE ON THE FAIRGROUNDS, LIVESTOCK EXHIBITS WILL BE UNDER THE CONTROL OF THE GENERAL LIVESTOCK SUPERINTENDENT AND RESPECTIVE LIVESTOCK DEPARTMENT SUPERINTENDENT.

"DU QUOIN STATE FAIR" AND "ILLINOIS DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE" MAY BE USED INTERCHANGABLY THORUGHOUT THIS PREMIUM BOOK.

- Section 1. Exhibition Animal Health Requirements
- Section 2. Animal Care, Drugs, Testing, Violations and Penalties
- Section 3. Livestock Division Announcements and General Rules

2024 LIVESTOCK SCHEDULE

	SHOW DATE <u>& TIME</u>	IN PLACE <u>BY</u>	RELEASE DATE <u>& TIME</u>
BEEF CATTLE Jr Showmanship Jr Show Breeding Beef Open Show Breeding Beef Jr Show Steers	8/31 at 9:30 am 8/31 at 1:00 pm 9/1 at 9:30 am 9/2 at 9:30 am	NA 8/30 by Noon 8/30 by Noon 9/1 by Noon	NA 9/1 after Open Show 9/1 after Open Show 9/2 after Steer Show
DAIRY CATTLE Jr Show Animals Open Show Animals	8/24 at 9:00 am 8/25 at 9:00 am	8/22 by 6 pm 8/22 by 6 pm	8/25 after Open Show 8/25 after Open Show
DAIRY GOATS Jr Show Dairy Goats Open Show Dairy Goats	8/31 at 9:00 am 9/1 at 9:00 am	8/30 by 6 pm 8/30 by 6 pm	9/1 after Open Show 9/1 after Open Show
MEAT GOATS	8/24 at 2:00 pm	8/24 by 8 am	8/24 after show
SHEEP Jr Breeding Sheep Jr Market Lambs Jr Showmanship	9/1 at 9:00 am 8/31 at 4:00 pm 9/1 after Breeding	8/31 by 9 am 8/31 by 9 am NA	9/1 after Breed Show 9/1 after Breed Show NA
<u>SWINE</u> Jr Gilts Jr Barrows Jr Showmanship	8/24 after Showman 8/25 at 9:00 am 8/24 at 1:00 pm	8/23 by noon 8/23 by noon NA	8/25 aft BarrowShow 8/25 aft BarrowShow NA
DRAFT HORSES, PONIES & Horse & Pony Halter Classes Teams & Hitches All Horse/Pony/Mule Parade Mule Halter Classes Carts & Hitches	MULES 8/31 at 9:00 am 8/31 at 1:00 pm 8/31 after last class 9/1 at 9:00 am 9/1 at 1:00 pm	8/30 by 6 pm 8/30 by 6 pm NA 8/30 by 6 pm 8/30 by 6 pm	9/1 after show 9/1 after show NA 9/1 after show 9/1 after show

Exhibition Livestock Health Requirements State Fairs

For Health Requirement Information:

Illinois Department of Agriculture Bureau of Animal Health and Welfare State Fairgrounds, PO Box 19281 Springfield, IL 62794-9281 Phone (217) 782-4944

General Requirements

These Exhibition Health Requirements apply to all livestock present at the Fair including those animals that are not entered in competitive events.

- Exhibitors are required to familiarize themselves with all rules applicable to their exhibits. All out-of-state animals shall require an entry permit. Entry permit numbers are available online at <u>https://entrypermit.agr.illinois.gov/Login.aspx</u>.
- All animals, except as noted, shall be accompanied by a Certificate of Veterinary Inspection (CVI) which shows that the animal meets all health requirements for the State of Illinois. CVI's shall be made available to Bureau of Animal Health Personnel on request. If an official electronic CVI is utilized, the exhibitor should be able to log on and show Bureau of Animal Health Personnel the completed CVI.

CVI means a legible record, made on an official form from the state of origin, which has been issued, signed and dated by an accredited veterinarian, and which shows the name and address of the animal's owner or exhibitor and the results of all required tests or vaccinations. A CVI shall list only one animal identification per line; shall be presented on the form on which it was initially issued; and shall not be corrected, changed or altered in any manner.

3. All animals shall be officially identified. The animal(s) official identification shall be recorded on the CVI.

Animal identification number (AIN): A numbering system for the official identification of individual animals in the United States that provides a nationally unique identification number for each animal. The AIN consists of 15 digits, with the first 3 being the country code (840 for the United States or a unique country code for any U.S. territory that has such a code and elects to use it in place of the 840 code).

- 4. If animals are from tuberculosis accredited, brucellosis certified, pseudorabies qualified, or brucellosis validated herds, the identifying herd number(s) along with the date of the last herd test(s) shall appear on the CVI.
- 5. CVIs for out-of-state livestock shall be void thirty (30) days after issuance.

- 6. CVIs for Illinois-origin livestock shall be void ninety (90) days after issuance.
- 7. All livestock shall be subject to examination upon entry to any Illinois fair or exhibition. Any animal showing evidence of infectious, contagious or communicable diseases shall be immediately withdrawn and held in quarantine at the owner's risk and expense until properly treated and recovered, or until the animal is released to return to the owner's premise.

Any livestock infected with scabies, mange, active lesions of ringworm, soremouth, or multiple warts which are easily visible without close examination shall not be permitted to exhibit and are subject to quarantine or removal from the fairgrounds.

Sheep and goats with caseous lymphadenitis as evidenced by draining abscesses shall not be exhibited and are subject to immediate quarantine or removal from the fairgrounds.

In the event of the suspicion of or diagnosis of a foreign animal disease, emerging animal disease, or other actionable disease, animals may be subject to quarantine on the fairgrounds until such time that it is determined that the disease is no longer a threat.

8. Illinois Department of Agriculture personnel or designee may collect blood, tissue, milk or urine samples from any animal being exhibited and/or raced at any Illinois fair to test for the presence of illegal drugs or banned substances. Examination techniques, such as ultrasound, may also be used at anytime while the animals are on the grounds of any Illinois fair or exhibit.

The Illinois Department of Agriculture or designee may collect urine, blood, tissue or other test samples from exhibition animals at the time of slaughter.

9. All exhibitors of animals at any Illinois fair or exhibition shall comply with the provisions of the Illinois Humane Care for Animals Act. If violations are observed, the animals(s) will be excused from exhibition and ordered removed from the grounds with all awards being forfeited.

Any practice or deviation from normal, accepted care, including physical, medical or mechanical application, shall constitute a violation of show rules and may result in the animal(s) disqualification and removal from the fairgrounds.

10. Any Illinois cattle, bison, cervidae or goats being exhibited in non-accredited free states must be isolated from the remainder of the herd/flock upon return to Illinois and retested for tuberculosis 60-120 days post-entry.

CATTLE

Identification

Individual identification of each animal shall be by a USDA official animal identification number ear tag, ("840" tag).

Beginning in 2025, the tag must be able to be read both visually and electronically.

Illinois Cattle

Brucellosis

Illinois is a Bovine Brucellosis Class-Free State. Brucellosis testing is not required for Illinois cattle.

Tuberculosis

Illinois is an Accredited Tuberculosis-Free State. Tuberculin testing is not required for Illinois cattle.

Please note: Illinois calves under 6 months of age are not required to have a Certificate of Veterinary Inspection.

Out-of-State Cattle

All out-of-state cattle are to be accompanied by an entry permit. Entry permit numbers are available online at https://entrypermit.agr.illinois.gov/Login.aspx.

Brucellosis

- Female cattle six (6) months of age and older and bulls eighteen (18) months of age and older shall be negative to an official test for brucellosis within thirty (30 Days prior to entry, unless exempt by on (1) of the following:
 - a. Originate directly from a certified brucellosis-free herd.
 - Official vaccinates of dairy breeds under twenty (20) months of age or official vaccinates of beef breeds under twenty-four (24) months of age.
 - c. Animal originated from a "Class Free" state (if entire state is so classified)
 - d. Steers and spayed heifers are not required to be tested for brucellosis.
- 2. The negative brucellosis test shall be conducted at a state or federal laboratory within 30 days prior to exhibition.

Tuberculosis

- 1. Accredited Tuberculous-Free States
 - a. No tuberculin test required. All cattle, including steers, originating from an Accredited Tuberculosis Free State, may enter Illinois for exhibition when accompanied by a CVI issued by an accredited veterinarian within 30 days.
- 2. Non-Accredited Tuberculosis Free Areas or States (Not TB Free)
 - a. Cattle must originate from a herd where a complete herd test was conducted within the past year.
 - b. The individual animals entering Illinois must be negative to an additional tuberculin test conducted within 30 days prior to exhibition.
 - c. Cattle that enter Illinois for exhibition and remain in Illinois (animal does not return to

the state of origin within 30 days) must be isolated and retested for TB 60-120 days from the last official TB test date.

SWINE

Identification

Individual identification of each animal shall be by a USDA official animal identification number ear tag,

("840" tag).

Beginning in 2025, the tag must be able to be read both visually and electronically.

Illinois Swine

Brucellosis

Brucellosis testing is not required for Illinois swine.

Tuberculosis

Pseudorabies testing is not required for Illinois swine.

Please note: Illinois calves under 6 months of age are not required to have a Certificate of Veterinary Inspection.

Out-of-State Swine

All out-of-state swine are to be accompanied by an entry permit. Entry permit numbers are available online at https://entrypermit.agr.illinois.gov/Login.aspx.

Brucellosis

- 1. Breeding swine 4 months of age and older shall be negative to an official test for brucellosis within 30 days prior to exhibition unless exempt by one (1) of the following:
 - a. Originate immediately and directly from a validated brucellosis-free herd.
 - b. Originate directly from a validated brucellosis-free state.
- 2. Swine brucellosis tests for exhibition shall be conducted at a state or federal laboratory.

Pseudorabies

- 1. Swine originating from a Pseudorabies Stage IV or V state are exempt from the pseudorabies testing requirement.
- Swine originating from a Pseudorabies Stage III state shall be negative to an official test for pseudorabies conducted within thirty (30) days prior to entry or originate immediately and directly from a gualified pseudorabies negative herd.
- 3. Swine originating from a Pseudorabies Stage I or II state shall be negative to an official test for pseudorabies conducted within the 10 days prior to entry.
- 4. Barrows and females in market classes must meet the same requirements as breeding swine.

SHEEP

Identification

Individual identification of each animal shall be by an ear tattoo or official metal or plastic tag. A microchip ID is acceptable if the owner provides the reader.

Ear tattoos may be used when a registration certificate, listing the tattoo number, accompanies the animal.

When using ear tags, the tag must indicate the premises ID and state of origin. The tag number must be assigned by a state or APHIS representative and recorded in the Scrapie Record Database.

Market Lambs

All market lambs must be slick shorn (show ring ready) before weigh-in so that show lamb fungus can be identified.

Illinois Sheep

- 1. Sheep originating from a flock that has previously been classified as either an infected or source flock can be exhibited in Illinois upon the completion of an approved flock plan.
- 2. The CVI must include the flock of birth and the flock of origin, if different.

Out-of-State Sheep

All out-of-state sheep are to be accompanied by an entry permit. Entry permit numbers are available online at https://entrypermit.agr.illinois.gov/Login.aspx.

- 1. Sheep originating from a flock that has previously been classified as either an infected or source flock can be exhibited in Illinois upon the completion of an approved flock plan.
- 2. The CVI must include the flock of birth and the flock of origin, if different.

GOATS

Identification

Individual identification of each animal shall be by an ear tattoo or official metal or plastic tag. A microchip ID is acceptable if the owner provides the reader.

Ear tattoos may be used when a registration certificate, listing the tattoo number, accompanies the animal.

When using ear tags, the tag must indicate the premises ID and state of origin. The tag number must be assigned by a state or APHIS representative and recorded in the Scrapie Record Database.

Ears should be used for tattooing when possible. If there is no space in the ear, the flank or tail fold may be used.

Illinois Goats

- 1. Goats originating from a herd that has previously been classified as either an infected or source herd can be exhibited in Illinois upon the completion of an approved herd plan.
- 2. The CVI must include the flock of birth and the flock of origin, if different.

Out-of-State Goats

All out-of-state goats are to be accompanied by an entry permit. Entry permit numbers are available online at https://entrypermit.agr.illinois.gov/Login.aspx.

1. Goats originating from a herd that has previously been classified as either an

infected or source herd can be exhibited in Illinois upon the completion of an approved herd plan.

2. Tuberculosis- Goats from areas or states that are not Accredited Bovine Tuberculosis Free, must be accompanied by a CVI indicating that the goats originated from a herd where a complete negative herd test has been conducted within the past twelve (12) months and the individual animals are negative to a tuberculin test conducted within thirty (30) days prior to entry. The CVI must include the flock of birth and the flock of origin, if different.

HORSES, PONIES, MULES AND OTHER EQUIDAE

Illinois Equine

- All horses and other equidae, twelve (12) months of age and older attending an advertised equine event, shall be accompanied by a negative test for equine infectious anemia (EIA) conducted within the last twelve (12) months. A copy of this test shall accompany the animal.
- 2. AGID (Coggins) or ELISA tests are accepted.
- 3. An advertised equine event means a show, rodeo, sale, auction, exhibition, trail ride, or horse fair that is posted or media promoted.
- 4. A CVI is not required for Illinois equine.

Out-of-State Equine

All out-of-state equine are to be accompanied by an entry permit. Entry permit numbers are available online at https://entrypermit.agr.illinois.gov/Login.aspx.

- All horses and other equidae entering Illinois that are twelve (12) months of age or older, shall be accompanied by a negative test for equine infectious anemia (EIA) conducted within the last twelve (12) months. A copy of this test shall accompany the animal.
- 2. AGID (Coggins) or ELISA tests are accepted.
- 3. All horses and other equidae shall be accompanied by a CVI issued within thirty (30) days prior to entry.

► END OF EXHIBITION LIVESTOCK HEALTH REQUIREMENTS ◄

Animal Care, Drugs, Testing, Violations and Penalties

Exhibitors with questions regarding medications and/or eligibility are encouraged to contact the Illinois State Veterinarian at 217-782-4944 prior to administration of medication. The State Fair Manager can also be reached at 217-782-0776.

- All exhibitors in any and all events described in this Premium Book acknowledge by their entry into such events that they have no constitutional or statutory right to participate or compete in such events. All exhibitors hereby expressly acknowledge that the procedures set forth in this Premium Book are the exclusive procedures and remedies concerning any disqualification. The Du Quoin State Fair and/or the Department of Agriculture reserve the final and absolute right to interpret these rules and regulations, settle and determine all matters, questions and differences in regard thereto, otherwise arising out of, connected with or incident to the Fair.
- Exhibitors and exhibitors' parents and/or legal guardians bear absolute responsibility for the care and custody of their animals. The use of drugs or other substances in any manner other than in accord with the labeling approved by FDA is a violation of Federal Law.
- 3. The Du Quoin State Fair is entitled to disqualify any exhibitor whose animal tests positive for a drug, even if the exhibitor and the exhibitor's parents and/or legal guardian are unaware of any wrongdoing, did not administer the drug, or had no knowledge of the administration of the drug. Even if the source of the drug is unknown, the Du Quoin State Fair is entitled to disqualify the exhibitor.
- 4. If an exhibitor administers any medication or drug to an animal prior to the Du Quoin State Fair, it is the exhibitor's sole responsibility to ensure that withdrawal times allow the animal to be slaughter eligible by the time it arrives at the fairgrounds. The elimination time (the time it takes for no drug residue to be found in the system) is generally longer than the labeled withdrawal period for most approved drugs.
- 5. The Du Quoin State Fair has the right to examine and/or test any animal (deceased or living), feed, liquids, or equipment at any time. The Du Quoin State Fair may sample an animal's blood, urine, milk, saliva, and/or tissue. Any samples taken for testing become the property of the Du Quoin State Fair. Samples may be collected, stored and tested in any manner the Illinois Department of Agriculture deems appropriate. Positive test results may be made public.
- 6. The Du Quoin State Fair may impound any animal for testing. Refusing such tests shall be cause for disqualification. Any animal tested at the Illinois State Fair is subject to being detained at the expense of the exhibitor until the Du Quoin State Fair receives final test results.
- 7. The drug test results of the testing laboratories are final and binding upon the exhibitor and the exhibitor's parents and/or legal guardians.

- 8. Violations:
 - A. <u>Drug Administration</u>: It is a *violation* if any medication or drug is administered to an animal after it has arrived on the State Fairgrounds without the supervision of the official State Fair Veterinarian. If an animal requires treatment while on the fairgrounds, only the Official State Fair Veterinarian is allowed to administer a medication or drug to the animal. Animals administered a medication or drug by the Official State Veterinarian having a reported withdrawal and/or elimination time period beyond the show date will be automatically disqualified from the competition.
 - B. <u>Unapproved Drug Use</u>: It is a *violation* if a market animal tests "positive" (not a quantitative test) for any drug that has not been approved by the Food and Drug Administration and/or the United States Department of Agriculture (USDA) for such type of animal.

However, it shall not be a violation of this subsection if the exhibitor discloses the drug specifically as follows: the exhibitor provides to the Du Quoin State Fair, at check-in, the Du Quin State Fair AMDUCA form properly completed by the veterinarian that prescribed the non-FDA-approved drug for the animal. It shall also not be a violation of this subsection if the State Fair Veterinarian prescribes a non-FDA-approved drug for an animal during the Du Quoin State Fair and completes the AMDUCA form. The AMDUCA form is available by contacting the Illinois Department of Agriculture.

Although the preceding paragraph allows for certain use of non-FDAapproved drugs, please be aware that federal law (21 C.F.R. § 530.41) prohibits the following list of drugs, families of drugs, and substances for extralabel animal uses. Therefore, notwithstanding the above paragraph, it is a *violation* with an increased penalty, including notification to the relevant authorities, if a market animal tests "positive" (not a quantitative test) for any of the following:

- 1) Chloramphenicol;
- 2) Clenbuterol;
- 3) Diethylstilbestrol (DES);
- 4) Dimetridazole;
- 5) Ipronidazole;
- 6) Other nitroimidazoles;
- 7) Furazolidone;
- 8) Nitrofurazone;
- Sulfonamide drugs in lactating dairy cattle (except approved use of sulfadimethoxine, sulfabromomethazine and sulfaethoxypyridazine);
- 10) Fluoroquinolones;
- 11) Glycopeptides;
- 12) Phenylbutazone in female dairy cattle 20 months of age or older; and
- 13) Cephalosporins (not including cephapirin) in cattle, swine, chickens, or turkeys:

- i. For disease prevention purposes;
- ii. At unapproved doses, frequencies, durations, or routes of administration; or
- iii. If the drug is not approved for that species and production class.
- C. Violative Residue Limit (Tolerance): It is a *violation* if a test result indicates the presence of a drug, additive, or contaminant that exceeds a residue limit (tolerance) set by the FDA and applied by the FSIS.
- D. <u>Unethical Fitting and Grooming Practices</u>: It is a *violation* if an animal evidences air pumping or the presence of inappropriate substances to alter conformation. Methods such as stomach pumping to induce artificial fill, performing surgical and/or non-surgical procedures to alter the animal's configuration or the natural conformation of any part of the animal's body, or unethical fitting are grounds for disqualification. The following generally accepted management practices are allowed: hoof trimming, dehorning, removal of hair, castration, branding, tattooing, ear notching and docking tails.
- E. <u>Falsification of Entries or Records</u>: It is a *violation* to falsify or alter official entries, records or registrations of animals.
- F. <u>Unsportsmanlike Conduct</u>: It is a *violation* for an exhibitor to act in any way that is outright discourteous or disrespectful to other exhibitors, judges, fair personnel or fair visitors, or to deliberately place or cause to be placed any animals or other person in a potentially harmful or disadvantageous position.
- G. <u>Approaching a Judge</u>: It is a violation for any individual, except Du Quoin State Fair personnel, to approach a judge during a show. Further, it is a violation to interfere with a judge in the performance of his/her duty or to refuse the awards designated by a judge.
- 9. Penalties: In the event of a violation, the exhibitor and animal shall be disqualified. The Du Quoin State Fair will provide the disqualified exhibitor with a *Notice of Disqualification* setting forth the specific reasons for the disqualification. The exhibitor of the disqualified animal shall be subject to the following penalties:
 - A. If exhibitor's first disqualification:
 - Forfeiture of all monetary awards including sale proceeds associated with the exhibitor for the current State Fair. The exhibitor also forfeits the rights to any product resulting therefrom.
 - 2) Return of all trophies and non-monetary awards associated with the exhibitor for the current State Fair.
 - 3) Forfeiture of all titles associated with the exhibitor for the current State Fair.
 - 4) A ban from competing in any competitive event at the Du Quoin State Fair for the following three (3) years, unless the animal is disqualified for testing positive for a drug, family of drugs, or substances prohibited by 21 C.F.R. § 530.41, in which case the ban shall be for the lifetime of the exhibitor.

- B. If exhibitor's second or subsequent disqualification:
 - All of the penalties above in 9(A), except the exhibitor shall be subject to a ban from competing in any competitive events at the Du Quoin State Fair for the following five (5) years, unless the animal is disqualified for testing positive for a drug, family of drugs, or substances prohibited by 21 C.F.R. § 530.41, in which case the ban shall be for the lifetime of the exhibitor.
- 10. Appeal of Disqualification: A disqualified exhibitor shall have 10 days following the receipt of the *Notice of Disqualification* to file a Petition with the Director of the Illinois Department of Agriculture. The procedures set forth in 8 Illinois Administrative Code 1, SUBPART C shall govern the process of filing and considering a Petition from a disqualified exhibitor.
- 11. If a Grand Champion animal is disqualified, the Reserve Grand Champion will be elevated to the respective designation. Disqualified animal photos and designations shall not be used in any advertising or promotional activities following the State Fair.

SICK, NONAMBULATORY AND DECEASED ANIMAL POLICY

- 12. The Du Quoin State Fair is fully committed to carrying out Animal Wellness and Care principles and ensuring the proper treatment of all animal exhibits. Therefore, sick animals shall not be exhibited because of the risk to the animal, other animals, the exhibitor, other persons, and the integrity of competitions. The Du Quoin State Fair Management, Department Superintendents, State of Illinois Veterinarians, and their respective designees, at their sole discretion, may prohibit an animal from showing and may require an animal to be sent to quarantine or leave the fairgrounds on the basis of animal health and care concerns.
- 13. A veterinarian will be available during the State Fair and may be reached by calling Sesser Animal Hospital at 618-625-5641.
- 14. Upon arrival at the State Fairgrounds, all Junior Livestock Division Exhibitors irrevocably consent to emergency medical care that may be needed to preserve an animal's life or prevent extreme suffering. Junior exhibitors and any person affiliated with them hereby waive any claim related to emergency medical care and, to the fullest extent permitted by law. Junior exhibitors and any person affiliated with them hereby agree to indemnify, defend and hold harmless the Du Quoin State Fair, Illinois Department of Agriculture, Illinois 4-H and FFA Programs, the State of Illinois, and respective agencies, affiliates, agents, officers, and employees from all claims and suits including court costs, attorney's fees, and other expenses related to emergency medical care. If the following conditions have been met, the Du Quoin State Fair is expressly authorized to perform any medical treatment, including but not limited to medical practices/procedures, administering of medications, surgery, and euthanasia, for an animal in the absence of the Junior Exhibitor:
 - A. The Junior Exhibitor is unreachable after due diligence has been made to contact the Exhibitor; and

- B. The State Fair Veterinarian (or designee), Department Superintendent and General Livestock Superintendent jointly determine the animal's health is in danger and delaying treatment would be detrimental to the animal's life, or that the animal is in extreme pain.
- 15. Upon entry to the Du Quoin State Fairgrounds only the official State Fair Veterinarians (or designee) may administer any medications or treatments externally or internally to animals on the Fairgrounds.

Special Note: It is a violation if any medication or drug is administered to an animal without the supervision of the official State Fair Veterinarian.

- 16. Notification to the State Veterinarian shall be completed by the attending official veterinarian and signed by the exhibitor or their guardian. Within 2 hours of treatment, the official State Fair Veterinarian shall electronically report all performed treatments to the Illinois Department of Agriculture.
- 17. No animals can be unloaded that are nonambulatory (i.e. downer) or unable to walk off the vehicle under their own power. The exception to this policy will be unloading the animal for euthanizing and disposing of the animal. If an animal becomes nonambulatory after arrival at the Du Quoin State Fairgrounds, the following policy will be strictly enforced:
 - A. The owner shall immediately notify the Department Superintendent.
 - B. The Department Superintendent shall immediately notify the State Fair Veterinarian and General Livestock Superintendent about the animal in question and the evolving circumstances.
 - C. The official Du Quoin State Fair Veterinarian, Department Superintendent, General Livestock Superintendent, and owner (or representative) will consult to determine the best course of action with primary focus on the animal's well-being. If euthanasia is determined to be the best option, this will be at the owner's expense.
 - D. Livestock that becomes nonambulatory after arriving at the Du Quoin State Fairgrounds must be disposed of or removed for treatment within 12 hours of discovery or receiving notice of the animal's condition. If the animal is treatable and the previously identified committee agrees, the owner must remove that animal from the Fairgrounds (at the owner's expense) within the 12 hour period.
 - E. If an animal dies while at the Du Quoin State Fair, the animal's owner(s) shall immediately notify the Department Superintendent, who shall notify the General Livestock Superintendent who shall contact the State Veterinarian. The animal shall be removed from the building or display area within 30 minutes. Fairgrounds staff will assist in loading the carcass into a vehicle for removal or to an appropriate holding area, but the animal's owner(s) is responsible for removing the carcass from the fairgrounds. In all instances, the Department Superintendent and General Livestock Superintendent must be present to assist in coordinating the removal of the carcass.

F. The Illinois Department of Agriculture reserves the right to examine and/or test any animal that dies on the fairgrounds, including having a necropsy performed. If a necropsy is performed, the Department of Agriculture will bear the cost.

ETHICAL CARE AND FITTING OF ANIMALS

- 18. The Du Quoin State Fair provides a showcase for Illinois Agriculture, highlighting the highest quality livestock, commodities and products through fair, unbiased and educational competitive events. Therefore, livestock exhibitors are held to a high standard of stewardship, integrity and ethics in each and every aspect of the care and exhibiting of animals. By making entries in the Du Quoin State Fair, exhibitors certify they have read the contents of this section of the fair book and agree to abide by all applicable rules and guidelines associated with the ethical care and exhibiting of animals, including specific rules relating to the administration of drugs to animals. Failure to do so could result in immediate disqualification from entered events, loss of entry fees and other identified penalties.
 - A. When caring for and exhibiting animals, ethics means:
 - 1) Setting good examples.
 - 2) Doing the right things.
 - 3) Making ethical decisions.
 - 4) Being accountable for your decisions.
 - B. Specifically, ethical care includes:
 - 1) Knowing how to properly handle and treat your animals and acting accordingly.
 - 2) Observing your animals each and every day.
 - 3) Treating your animals humanely at all times.
 - 4) Providing safe and humane housing for your animals that protects them from the weather and any hazards that could result in injuries, pain or disease.
 - 5) Transporting your animals in a manner that will avoid unnecessary stress or chance of injury.
 - 6) Being gentle and patient with animals.
 - Providing adequate amounts of good quality and wholesome food and water. This means feeding and watering animals daily, even on busy, difficult days.
 - 8) Keeping your animals, pens and stalls clean at all times.
 - 9) Protecting your animal's health through implementing disease prevention strategies, such as following proper vaccination protocols and quickly responding to any change in the health status of your animal.
 - Using and storing medications correctly and in accordance with label directions.
 - 11) Providing veterinary care when needed to prevent suffering.
 - 12) Helping others whenever possible.

- C. Specifically, ethical exhibiting includes:
 - 1) Making sure each animal's records and entries are correct, including age, breed, weight and ownership papers.
 - 2) Following the deadlines for entry and arrival at shows.
 - Being truthful in completing paperwork and entry forms and demonstrating honesty in working with other exhibitors and show staff.
 - 4) Keeping the promises made by signing the Illinois State Fair Affidavit that...
 - i. livestock exhibits have been cared for and maintained by the exhibitor and his or her immediate family,
 - ii. exhibitors will follow the rules of the Illinois Humane Care for Animals Act, and
 - iii. exhibitors will follow all fair rules on animal care, grooming and market eligibility.
 - 5) Properly handling your animals when they are being exhibited.
 - 6) Being courteous toward other exhibitors and adults working with the program.
 - 7) Listening to and following the advice of advisors and leaders.
 - 8) Dealing with anger and disagreements in a peaceful way.
 - 9) Accepting the results of competition and being a good sport.

D. Ethical behavior does not include:

- 1) Striking, tormenting, overworking, starving or abusing animals in any manner.
- Abandoning any animal where it may become a public charge or may suffer injury, hunger or exposure.
- Using animal drugs illegally or not according to the label, as such action may potentially harm animals, make animal products unsafe for consumers and could result in criminal charges.
- 4) Turning in false paperwork about an animal's age, breed, weight, ownership, identity, or more.
- 5) Taking credit for work you did not do.
- 6) Illegally changing the appearance of an animal.
- 7) Exhibiting deceitful, disrespectful or discourteous behavior toward other exhibitors or show staff.

▶ END OF ANIMAL CARE, DRUGS, TESTING, VIOLATIONS AND PENALTIES ◄

Livestock Division Announcements and General Rules

General Livestock Superintendent Dr. Brian Sager Assistant General Livestock Superintendent Dr. Larry Wilson Assistant General Livestock Superintendent Ed Whitcomb

ANNOUNCEMENTS

Junior Livestock Division Eligibility

Junior Livestock Division exhibitors must be at least eight (8) years old and not yet twentyone (21) years of age by August 31, 2023. Proof of age may be required.

A Word to Parents, Leaders and Teachers

The Management of the Fair realizes the necessity of proper supervision of the activities of young people participating in the Junior Livestock Division. Those in charge of the activities of this department have been selected because of their experience in working with young people. However, parents and leaders should be aware of conditions on the Fairgrounds and make provisions for adequate care and supervision of exhibitors.

Truck and Livestock Trailer Parking

Trucks and livestock trailers *must be* parked in designated areas. No vehicle shall be parked in areas immediately around the livestock barns or the Exhibition Hall or next to the racetrack. **Special Note: Vehicles parked in non-designated areas will be towed at owner's expense.**

Camper Parking

Campers *must be* parked in the campground area. There will be no campers parked around the livestock area.

Premises Registration Number Voluntary

Premises Registration is voluntary to exhibit livestock (beef, dairy, horses, swine, sheep, goats, poultry and rabbits) at the Illinois State Fair. Choosing to register your premises puts you on the frontline of controlling and preventing the spread of animal disease. A disease outbreak can't be predicted but it can impact every segment of animal agriculture. Participation ensures that you have the information you need, when you need it most, to protect your animals and your investment. Registering a premise involves obtaining a seven-character alpha-numeric "identifier" for the farm, ranch, veterinary clinic or other site where livestock or fowl are handled, housed, managed or processed.

If an exhibitor wants to register their animals an application form can be found on-line at www. agr.state.il.us/premiseid. Exhibitors who register on-line will receive a premise registration number immediately. An application can also be obtained by calling 866/299-9256. If completing application and returning by mail, it may take up to four (4) weeks to receive the number.

Filing a Protest

If another exhibitor or any member of the public has reason to believe that an animal should be disqualified, he/she must contact the appropriate Department Superintendent and/or State Fair officials and file a protest presenting his/her evidence in writing. Such protest and evidence must be filed after official check-in of the animal of protest or within forty-eight hours after the respective show. If, after reviewing the evidence, the State Fair disqualifies the animal and disqualified exhibitor requests an administrative hearing, the complaining person shall be required to testify under oath at the hearing and present his/her evidence. If the complaining person refuses to testify or cannot be found to be served with a subpoena, no disqualification will be made on the basis of that complaining person's evidence.

GENERAL RULES

ENTRY RULES, FEES AND INFORMATION

- No employee (includes full-time, part-time, and/or contractual employees) of the Du Quoin State Fair or member of his/her Immediate Family is allowed to own or exhibit any animals and/or articles in any competitive event in which he/she is employed as a judge or superintendent. (Immediate Family is defined as the spouse, children, step-children, parents or step-parents, brothers, sisters, step-brothers or stepsisters.)
- 2. By submitting a Du Quoin State Fair Entry Form, exhibitors agree to all terms and conditions in this premium book and all other laws including the *Humane Care for Animals Act.*
- 3. All Junior Livestock Division entries must be separately made on specie-specific Junior Livestock Division entry forms and all Open Livestock Division entries must be separately made on specie-specific Open Livestock Division entry forms. Entries made solely in the Junior Livestock Division or the Open Livestock Division *do not* fulfill the entry requirements for the other division. Entry forms may be secured through the State Fair Entry Department at 618/542-1509 or 618/542-1525 or at the State Fair website www.duquoinstatefair.net. *Entry forms should be mailed to the Du Quoin State Fair, Competitive Events, 655 Executive Drive, Du Quoin, IL 62832.*
- 4. Entry forms *must be* completely and legibly filled out with class numbers identified.
- 5. Only one (1) exhibitor should be submitted on any one (1) entry form; that is, a separate entry form *must be* used for each exhibitor. In all cases, an exhibitor is the owner of the animal as evidenced by the name on the registration paper and an exhibitor is limited to two (2) entries per class. Animals owned in partnership *must be* entered in all classes in the partnership name as it appears on the registration paper. If more than one (1) exhibitor is made on one (1) entry form, such entry will not be accepted.
- 6. Fitting Companies or persons making entries for other individual owners *must* list the name of the animal and the name of the person or partnership identified as the owner on the registration paper.
- 7. Group entries *must be* made on the Entry Form, *must be* from animals entered and shown in single classes, and *must be* the same owner as single entries unless otherwise stated in breed classification. Additionally, group entries are limited to one (1) entry per class per exhibitor. Further, partnership animals cannot be combined for group classes, including family partnership, unless otherwise stated in breed classification.
- 8. Entries *must* state the name and registration number of the animals to be exhibited; name, address and social security number of the owner (exhibitor); and name and address of breeder as it appears on the original registration paper issued by the respective national breed association.

- 9. *Do not* enter Champion Classes. First place class winners will automatically be entered in Champion Classes as a show progresses.
- 10. Gilt and Barrow ear notches and breed must appear on swine entry form to show.
- 11. All entries *must* be postmarked by August 9, 2024. Substitutions, in writing, may be made within the same class number of a Department until 4:00 pm August 16, 2024 unless stated otherwise in specific specie rules.
- 12. Late entries will be accepted with an additional late fee of \$50.00 per head until 4:00 pm August 16, 2024. *Positively no entries will be accepted postmarked after August 16, 2024*. Ex. Junior Dairy Cattle Exhibitor 'A' enters an animal after the August 9 deadline and before the late entry deadline of August 16 and must pay the regular \$10 per head entry fee and the additional \$50 late fee for a total of \$60.
- 13. Incomplete or faxed entries *will not* be allowed in the 2024 Du Quoin State Fair. The State Fair Management reserves the right to reject any entry.
- 14. Exhibits that have been erroneously entered may, at the discretion of the Department Superintendent, be transferred to or from a class and put into the proper class prior to judging. If classes have already been judged, those classes will not be re-opened and ineligible or late entries into the showring will be disqualified.
- 15. Each Livestock Exhibitor must purchase a \$30.00 Exhibitor's Pass. Additional passes may be purchased for helpers, fitters, groomers, etc. for \$30.00 each.
- 16. Entry fees for the 2024 Du Quoin State Fair are as follows:

OPEN BEEF CATTLE SHOW	\$15.00 PER HEAD
JUNIOR BEEF CATTLE SHOW	\$10.00 PER HEAD
OPEN DAIRY CATTLESHOW	\$15.00 PER HEAD
JUNIOR DAIRY CATTLE SHOW	\$10.00 PER HEAD
DRAFT HORSE, DRAFT PONY & MULE SHOWS S	\$15.00 PER HEAD
JUNIOR SWINE SHOW	\$ 5.00 PER HEAD
JUNIOR SHEEP SHOW	\$ 5.00 PER HEAD
OPEN DAIRY GOAT SHOW	\$10.00 PER HEAD
JUNIOR DAIRY GOAT SHOW	\$ 5.00 PER HEAD
JUNIOR MEAT GOAT SHOW	\$ 5.00 PER HEAD

17. Each Open Beef Show entry *must* include a \$20.00 Bedding Fee per animal entered. Ex: Open Exhibitor 'A' enters five (5) head and must pay a \$100 Bedding Fee.

Each Junior Beef Show entry *must* include a single \$20.00 Bedding Fee, regardless of the number of animals entered.

Ex: Junior Exhibitor 'B' enters five (5) head and must pay a \$20 Bedding Fee.

If an exhibitor is showing the same five (5) head in both Open and Junior Shows, and pays the required \$20 per head Open Show Bedding Fee of \$100, they *do not* need to pay an additional Junior Show Bedding Fee of \$20. If, however, the exhibitor is showing the same five (5) head in both Open and Junior Shows, pays the required \$20 per head Open Show Fee of \$100, and also enters a sixth animal as a Junior Show only entry, they must pay the additional \$20 Junior Show Bedding Fee.

 Payment for Entry Fees, Exhibitor's Passes, and Bedding Fees should be made in the form of a check payable to the **Du Quoin State Fair** and *must be* attached to all entry forms.

Special Note: There will be *no refunds* of Entry Fees, Exhibitor Passes or Bedding Fees under any circumstances.

ANIMAL REGISTRATION AND OWNERSHIP

- 19. Original registration papers issued by respective national breed association will be required in all purebred classes. Certificates from breed association representatives will not be accepted in lieu of registration papers. For Open Show Division, registration must show ownership of the animals in the name of the exhibitor or partnership in which the exhibitor is a partner. For Junior Show Division, registration must show ownership of the animals in the name of the exhibitor or ownership of the animals in the name of the exhibitor or ownership by immediate family members including the exhibitor with no partnerships allowed.
- 20. Original registration papers *only* must be available to the Department Superintendent at weigh-in/check-in and when checking ear markings, tattoos, or other identification. In extreme emergencies, a copy of the registration paper, when accompanied with a cover letter and faxed from the respective national breed association *directly to the Du Quoin State Fair Entry Department*, FAX 618-542-1541, will be accepted.
 Exhibitors *must* have papers or faxed copy from the national breed association two (2) hours prior to the start of check-in or weigh-in. Litter papers for breeding swine will be accepted only if the pigs have individual registration numbers included on the litter papers; no exceptions.
- 21. The effective date of ownership must appear on the registration papers. In all cases, the required ownership date, transfer date included, for all animals exhibited at the Du Quoin State Fair is thirty (30) days prior to the opening day of the fair.
- 22. For purposes of distinguishing the breeder, the owner of the dam at the time of service shall be considered the breeder of the exhibited animal.
- 23. Double registered animals will be allowed entry in only one breed show.

ARRIVAL, PENNING/STALLING, CHECK-IN, SHOWING AND RELEASE OF ANIMALS

24. Time of arrival, showing and release of animals is identified in the previous Livestock Schedule and also printed in the specie sections. Any animals in barns prior to identified arrival times may be moved according to Superintendent's instruction. 25. Incoming livestock exhibitors must enter the fairgrounds through Gate 3. Please note there is no turn around at Gate 3.

Special Note: Gate 3 closes from midnight to 7:00 am each day of the fair. All arrivals during this time should access the fairgrounds by using the Main Gate off Route 51.

- 26. All livestock exhibited *must* meet the Illinois Exhibition Animal Health Requirements of the Du Quoin State Fair as previously identified. Health papers *must be* stamped by the State Veterinarian or designee on the grounds and *must be* presented when obtaining exhibitor numbers at check-in.
- 27. All animals are to be penned and stalled in livestock barns unless expressly permitted by the Department Superintendent.
- 28. For the safety and benefit of exhibitors, visitors and animals, pens, stalls, aisles, and areas between the barns are to be kept clean, neat and free of manure, random equipment and clutter at all times. The State Fair Management has the right to take action as necessary to enforce this rule.
- 29. The State Fair Management encourages the displaying of farm exhibit signs. Such signs, if displayed, must not exceed six feet in length and three feet in width. No commercial product or service advertising, other than the home, farm, or breed of the entrant shall be allowed on stalls, pens, hurdles, or in the show arena. Decorative lights and painting of any portion of State Fair facilities are prohibited.
- 30. All stock exhibited in breeding classes must be in breeding condition. All male animals shown in any breeding class must be entire and no animals shall be shown which are affected with any chronic disease, deformity or serious imperfection.
- 31. In most Departments, exhibitors will be furnished ring cards showing the exhibitor number which must be worn in the show ring when animals are shown. Exhibitor numbers are to be secured from the Superintendent of the Department at the designated time of check-in. To secure ring cards at check-in, each exhibitor must present:
 - A. Health Certificate of Veterinary Inspection approved by the State Veterinarian and showing animals comply with Illinois Exhibition Animal Health Requirements.
 - B. Certificate of eligibility or certificate of registry, signed by the Secretary of the National Breed Association, indicating the animal exhibited is purebred and giving registry numbers of the sire and dam for all purebred classes.
- 32. Market class breaks will be made at the sole discretion of the Department Superintendent. Further, the Department Superintendent shall have complete discretion in determining specific breed division and assignments to allow for efficient show management, including the addition of an AOB class. If there are not at least four (4) different exhibitors and sixteen (16) animals in any given livestock breed, the breed show may be eliminated, with those animals assigned to show in

an AOB class.

- 33. The Du Quoin State Fair reserves the right to cancel any class where there are less than four (4) entries which are the property of different owners. The State Fair also reserves the right to combine or divide any class or classes should the best interests of the show warrant such.
- 34. When any breed of livestock drops below four (4) different exhibitors and sixteen (16) animals, the State Fair Management has the authority, at its sole discretion, to eliminate the breed show classification for the following year(s). In such cases and in order to regain the breed classification for future fairs, the exhibitors/Breed Association must present satisfactory evidence to the state fair management that they will have a show of the required number and quality in keeping with state fair standards.
- 35. Exhibitors/Breed Associations wishing to add new, previously un-designated breeds, to the standard departmental shows at the Du Quoin State Fair may be provided the opportunity to exhibit club or breed association shows as separate events at the fair, providing the Department Superintendent and General Livestock Superintendent are supportive and it is determined that such exhibitions can be accommodated in the facilities and schedule of the State Fair. In order for a new, previously un-designated breed to be added to standard departmental shows, it must be demonstrated, through club or breed show exhibitions at the State Fair, the new breed can offer and sustain minimum required numbers of exhibitors and animals for future fairs.
- 36. Junior Division exhibitors must personally care for their animals or exhibit during the entire fair and must assume responsibility for having their animals available at the time of Junior Division judging.
- 37. All Junior Division animals must be exhibited in the show/judging rings by the owners unless exempted in advance by the Department Superintendent due to an identified, eligible conflict. In order for an exemption to be considered, a letter of request must be provided to the Department Superintendent no later than the time of animal check-in. The request must name the person, who must be a current exhibitor in the same Junior Livestock Show, who will show the animal(s).
- 38. If a Junior Division exhibitor shows two (2) entries in a given class, becomes ill or injured while at the fair in a manner that would preclude exhibiting, or is exhibiting two (2) species in the Junior Division showing at the same time, thereby creating a conflict, he/she may secure the aid of another Junior Livestock Division exhibitor in showing his/her animals, providing permission is received from the Department Superintendent.
- 39. Animals shown in Junior Division Showmanship Classes, regardless of the Livestock Department, must 1) be owned by the exhibitor in accordance with the prescribed ownership rules of the Du Quoin State Fair Junior Livestock Division, and 2) have been or will be shown in a specific market or breeding stock class by the

exhibitor in the Du Quoin State Fair Junior Livestock Division. Further, if an exhibitor wins a showmanship class leading to a championship competition, the animal shown in the championship competition must be the same animal that was shown in the original showmanship class.

- 40. Animals should not be decorated or adorned with any unnecessary trappings during showing in the ring before the evaluating judge.
- 41. If it is ascertained that any exhibitor or spectator attempts to interfere with the judge in the performance of his/her duty in any manner, or refuses to accept the awards made, that exhibitor shall be disqualified from further competition and forfeit any premium and ribbon already awarded.
- 42. Animals will be released in accordance with the schedules listed for a given Livestock Department. In all instances, exhibitors must obtain a signed release form from an authorized Superintendent and have the approved release form available for inspection by security at fair gates.
- 43. Animals may be released prior to the published release dates and times if, at the discretion of the Department Superintendent, an early release is warranted to preserve and protect the health and welfare of animals and exhibitors.
- 44. Understanding that the Du Quoin State Fair provides a showcase for the Illinois Livestock Industry and an opportunity for exhibitors and visitors alike to view the best livestock Illinois has to offer and learn more about responsible animal husbandry and its significance in quality food production, it is important for animals to remain at the fair for the prescribed exposition period. Exhibitors who remove their animals prior to the published release dates and times may be subject to forfeiture of all placings, awards and premiums.

ADDITIONAL EXPECTATIONS

- 45. When dogs are in or around the Livestock Barns and showrings, they must be on a leash.
- 46. Due to limited storage space in and around livestock buildings on the fairgrounds, exhibitors will only be allowed to bring a reasonable amount of feed and bedding with them.
- 47. As a service to Beef Exhibitors, the Du Quoin State Fair contracts with a reputable entity to supply bedding for beef cattle. Beef cattle stalls will be prebedded and exhibitors *must* pay the appropriate Bedding Fee directly to the Du Quoin State Fair along with entries. *Refer to Rule 17 above*.
- Equipment left on the fairgrounds over thirty (30) days after the closing date of the State Fair is subject to removal at the discretion of the State Fair Management.
- 49. Care will be exercised to prevent accident or damage of any kind to people,

animals or property, but the State Fair Management will not assume any liability for such.

AWARDS AND PREMIUMS

- 50. Awards will be made by the single judge system, unless in the judgement of the Department Superintendent more judges are needed. Judges will report to the Department Superintendent at the respective office by 8:00 am on the day fixed for awarding placings on the classes he/she is to judge. No person will act as judge in any class in which he/she may be an interested exhibitor, agent or employee of an exhibitor, or otherwise invested. If such circumstances are discovered by the Department Superintendent, the Superintendent may remove such judge and substitute another temporarily. In case an officially appointed judge is not present, the Department Superintendent has the privilege and authority to appoint a capable judge, providing he/she is not a State Fair Official or an exhibitor in the show or breed he/she will be judging.
- 51. No animal deemed unworthy will be allowed into a class for judging or awarded a premium.
- 52. Objections to any person serving as a judge must be submitted to the Department Superintendent in writing, providing good and sufficient reasons, prior to the judge in question making any award in a given show. In all cases, the State Fair Management, in consultation with the General Livestock Superintendent, shall have full power and authority to act.
- 53. The Superintendent of each Livestock Department shall instruct the Clerk to check the entries, as shown in the Entry Book, with the exhibits present and mark the Entry Books to show what animals were shown and passed upon by the Judge. The Department Superintendent will see to it the Entry Books, recorded properly with placings, awards and premiums and properly signed and certified by the appointed Judge and Clerk, and then known as the Judge's Books are returned as soon as a show is completed. Payment of premiums can only be authorized upon entries and associated placings and awards contained within the completed, returned and certified Judge's Books.
- 54. Judge's Books only will be used as evidence for payment of premiums. Ribbons/rosettes will not serve as evidence. Judge's Books will be supported by completed and certified Judge's Cards and Department Superintendent records completed in the showring at the time of judging.
- 55. Premiums will be paid as rapidly as possible after the last day of the State Fair.
- 56. Errors in premium statements will be corrected until November 1 following the fair, after which time the books will be closed and incorrect premiums forfeited.
- 57. In all Livestock Departments, exhibitors are limited to two premiums in single classes and one premium in group classes, in both Junior and Open Shows.

- 58. All special premiums and/or awards will be paid or presented by designated associations or donors offering the same and the State Fair is in no way responsible for the payment or extension of such special prizes.
- 59. No premium will be awarded to any animal or group of animals for the purpose of advertising any commodity.
- 60. The Department of Agriculture shall use its best efforts to secure sufficient appropriations to fund premiums. In any year for which the General Assembly of the State of Illinois fails to make an appropriation sufficient to pay such premiums, premium amounts may not be accurately reflected in the Livestock Premium Book.
- 61. Ribbons and trophies will be presented to exhibitors at the time of judging and the State Fair will not be responsible for loss or the issuing of replacements.
- 62. Champion classes are limited to first place animals, except reserve champions where the second place animal from the class in which the champion was selected may compete.

► END OF GENERAL RULES FOR LIVESTOCK EXHIBITS ◄

Department A – Beef Cattle

Beef Cattle Shows

Superintendent..... Dr. Larry Wilson Cell Phone 847-814-7301

Special Note: Beginning in 2024, Individual identification of each animal shall be by a USDA official animal identification number ear tag, ("840" tag), and in 2025, the tag must be able to be read both visually and electronically.

ANNOUNCEMENTS

PREMIUMS

Total Premiums Offered in Open Show\$18,000.00Total Premiums Offered in Junior Show\$11,550.00Premiums will be pro-rated according to participation and pay up to five (5) places.

ENTRIES

Open Show Entry Fee is \$15.00 per head and Junior Show Entry Fee is \$10.00 per head.

Each Open Beef Show entry *must* include a \$20.00 Bedding Fee per animal entered. Ex: Open Exhibitor 'A' enters five (5) head and must pay a \$100 Bedding Fee.

Each Junior Beef Show entry *must* include a single \$20.00 Bedding Fee, regardless of the number of animals entered.

Ex: Junior Exhibitor 'B' enters five (5) head and must pay a \$20 Bedding Fee.

If an exhibitor is showing the same five (5) head in both Open and Junior Shows, and pays the required \$20 per head Open Show Bedding Fee of \$100, they *do not* need to pay an additional Junior Show Bedding Fee of \$20. If, however, the exhibitor is showing the same five (5) head in both Open and Junior Shows, pays the required \$20 per head Open Show Fee of \$100, and also enters a sixth animal as a Junior Show only entry, they must pay the additional \$20 Junior Show Bedding Fee.

Additionally, each Livestock Exhibitor must purchase a \$30.00 Exhibitor's Pass. Additional passes may be purchased for helpers, fitters, groomers for \$30.00 each.

Checks should be made payable to the Du Quoin State Fair.

Special Note: There will be no refunds of Entry Fees, Exhibitor Passes or Bedding Fees under any circumstances.

Entry forms may be secured through the State Fair Entry Department at 618/542-1509 or 618/542-1525 or at the State Fair website www.duquoinstatefair.net. *Entry forms* should be mailed to the Du Quoin State Fair, Competitive Events, 655 Executive Drive, Du Quoin, IL 62832.

All entries *must be* postmarked by August 9, 2024. Late entries will be accepted with a late entry fee of \$50.00 per head until 4:00 pm August 16, 2024. *Positively no entries will be accepted postmarked after August 16, 2024.*

SCHEDULE

Animals Must Be Stalled No Later Than:

- All Breeding Animals...... 12:00 noon, Friday, August 30
- All Steers.....12:00 noon, Sunday, September 1

Special Note: Entries will be processed at the Fair Office according to the following schedule:

Animal Check-in/Processing:

- Showmanship Entries accepted.....until 5:00 pm, Friday, August 30

Animals Released;

- Exhibitors Not Showing in Steer Showafter Open Show, Sunday, September 1
- Exhibitors Showing in Steer Show after Steer Show, Monday, September 2

SHOW SCHEDULE

(Start times may vary slightly from the following schedule. Breed show order will be posted and will follow sequentially after a short break between breeds. Watch and listen for announcements.)

Saturday, August 31 9:30 am - Junior Showmanship 1:00 pm - Junior Show Breeding Beef

Sunday, September 1 9:30 am - Open Show Breeding Beef

Monday, September 2 9:30 am - Junior Show Steers

DEPARTMENT RULES

- Each exhibitor must comply with the Illinois Exhibition Health Requirements; Animal Care, Drug, Testing and Welfare Policies; and General Rules of the Livestock Division as previously stated. NOTE: Steers are required to have a current Certificate of Veterinary Inspection.
- Purebred animals must be recorded in their respective National Breed Book as evidenced by official registration papers or certificate of registration. Certificates from breed association representatives *will not* be accepted in lieu of registration

papers and *no copies* of registration or stamped duplicate of official registration will be accepted.

- 3. The effective date of ownership must appear on the registration papers. In all cases, the required ownership date, transfer date included, for all animals exhibited at the Du Quoin State Fair is thirty (30) days prior to the opening day of the fair.
- 4. Registered Steers must have a fully healed tattoo that matches the tattoo number on the certificate of registration.
- 5. Exhibitors are responsible for having his/her animal's ears clean, knowing where the tattoo is and knowing it can be read by officials at time of entry processing.
- 6. Only one (1) hanging fan per every three (3) animals will be permitted in the Livestock Barn. No fans will be allowed in walk ways and no butt fans, misters, swamp blasters, air conditioning units or cooling systems of any kind will be allowed. Generators and electrical fans or equipment of any kind are *not* allowed in the tie-outs. Any exhibitor's stalls or tie-outs found with any of the above will be immediately disqualified from exhibiting.
- 7. The use of "sides" or awnings on tents used for grooming animals is prohibited.
- 8. The Beef Department will be governed by rules and specifications set forth by the National Breed Associations, unless otherwise specified. The Superintendent will make decisions concerning interpretation of such rules and regulations and, along with the General Livestock Superintendent, shall have full authority regarding show eligibility.
- 9. Any class of breeding animals with twenty (20) or more head will be divided by birthdates into two (2) distinct premium eligible classes.
- 10. Open substitution of animals will be allowed through the time of check-in.
- 11. The following grooming rules will be *strictly* enforced and exhibitors found in violation of these rules, either prior to entering the ring or while in the ring, will be immediately removed from the show.
 - A. Dying or artificially changing the color of an animal is prohibited. Coloring agents may only be used up to the hock (knee). Powders are not allowed on any part of the animal. Animals may be given a white towel test as they enter the showring.
 - B. Cattle are to be shown in their natural conformation. The use of false tail heads is prohibited, as is the addition of hair, hemp, or any similar substance to any part of an animal.
 - C. Tail ties are prohibited, as are spiked show halter leads and nose rings for breeding stock or steers.
 - D. Excess adhesive on the legs beyond what is needed to groom the animal's hair is prohibited.
 - E. No aerosols will be permitted in the make-up area. Any aerosol cans in the make-up area, will be confiscated by Department Staff.
- 12. Any animal displaying repeated unruly behavior will be dismissed from the class at the discretion of the Superintendent.
- 13. Exhibitors taking animals to tie outs must wait until 7:00 pm. Owners must provide all water pails and wheelbarrows.
- 14. Upon decision of the Beef Cattle Superintendent, an award will be given to the Premiere Herdsman in each beef cattle breed. Herdsman Awards will be based upon entry preparedness, cleanliness of animals, promptness to the showring,

showmanship and courtesy to other exhibitors and fair patrons.

15. Do not enter Championship Classes.

SPECIFIC RULES FOR STEERS

- 16. Steers may be purebred or crossbred.
- 17. Each exhibitor may exhibit a total of four (4) steers.
- 18. Steers must weigh 900 pounds or more to be eligible to show.
- 19. Steers will be shown by weight classes within each breed. Animals will be placed into weight divisions and classes based upon weights taken at check-in. All class breaks will be at the discretion of the Superintendent. Exhibitors must check posted class assignments and be at the showring with his/her animal when the assigned class is called.
- 20. Exhibitors should pick-up a check-in card from the fair office upon arrival at the fairgrounds. A fully completed and legibly written check-in card, and, if applicable, registration certificate should be brought with them at the time of processing and check-in.
- 21. Steer tattoos will be checked.
- 22. Additional eligibility requirements to show in the various breed steer shows are listed under specific breed rules.
- 23. Breeds will be shown in the order posted by the Superintendent. Watch and listen for announcements.

SPECIFIC BREED RULES

<u>Angus</u>

- 24. Eligibility requirement to show is *Purebred* with an American Angus Association registration certificate. Angus registration paper will indicate effective date of ownership. Land of Lincoln certificates are *not* needed and will *not* qualify a steer to show with the Angus.
- 25. Steers must be free of horns or scurs. Scurs are defined as any portion of horny tissue attached to the skin of hornet of a polled animal.
- 26. Steers with white skin above the underline or on leg, foot or tail shall *not* be eligible for registration and will be barred from competition.
- 27. All entries are subject to DNA marker or blood typing for parentage verification at the discretion of American Angus Association.
- 28. Individual classes of both sexes will be divided by an appointed committee as nearly equal as possible with no more than twenty-six (26) classes. Variation of division of numbers per class will be dependent upon age differential. The appointed committee will make official division of classes no later than twenty-four (24) hours after official stalling deadline and not before twelve (12) hours after stalling deadline.
- 29. For an exhibitor to be eligible for premium monies contributed by the American Angus Association, exhibitors are subject to the Association Rules as found in the breeder Reference Guide of the Association. These rules are found in Part 2: Association Rules. The rules relating directly with the exhibition of Angus Cattle are Part 2: Association Rules; Rule 800 Series; including Rule 800-810. The rules can be found at <u>www.angus.org</u>.
- 30. Authorized representatives of the American Angus Association have the authority to enforce the rules set forth herein, as well as in the Association Rules, including

the barring of registered animal from a livestock show at which it is to be shown if there are reasonable grounds to believe a violation has occurred.

Hereford and Polled Hereford

- 31. All steers showing at the Illinois State Fair must be registered by the American Hereford Association (AHA) and out of a registered sire and dam. No steer certificates will be accepted, only registration papers. Hereford registration papers will indicate effective date of ownership.
- 32. Exhibitors in Hereford classes are subject to the Association's special rule on class qualification, and any animal without a legible tattoo will not be eligible for show.
- 33. Individual classes of both sexes will be divided by an appointed committee as nearly equal as possible with no more than twenty-six (26) classes. Variation of division of numbers per class will be dependent upon age differential. The appointed committee will make official division of classes no later than twenty-four (24) hours after official stalling deadline and not before twelve (12) hours after stalling deadline.
- 34. All steers *must* have a basic DNA test on file at the AHA. Exhibitors should contact the AHA customer service department by calling 816-842-3757 or by email at <u>records@hereford.org</u> to request a DNA kit for their steer. Exhibitor must be a member of the AHA or NJHA to request a basic DNA test which includes genetic profile, genetic abnormalities and parent verification, if parent DNA is on file. At the time of check-in, exhibitors will be required to present a registration paper and letter from the AHA stating their steer's basic test DNA profile is on file. Further, all Hereford steers entered for exhibition are subject to additional DNA testing at the discretion of the Illinois Hereford Association.
- 35. All animals exhibited are subject to DNA profile test to verify breed purity and accuracy of the recorded parentage. Rules detailing DNA profiling of Hereford animals can be found in the AHA Rules and Regulations Handbook at <u>www.hereford.org</u>.

Shorthorn and Shorthorn Plus

- Eligibility requirement to show Shorthorn is 15/16 and higher and Shorthorn Plus 50% to 7/8, as verified by an American Shorthorn Association (ASA) registration certificate. An ASA registration certificate will indicate effective date of ownership.
- 37. Multiple owned animals must be exhibited in the name of all owners.
- 38. All Shorthorns and Polled Shorthorns are subject to a tattoo inspection by representatives of the ASA. All Shorthorns and Polled Shorthorns are also subject to an age inspection if deemed necessary by the ASA and the decision of the examining veterinarian is final.
- 39. Individual classes of both sexes will be divided by an appointed committee as nearly equal as possible with no more than twenty-six (26) classes. Variation of division of numbers per class will be dependent upon age differential. The appointed committee will make official division of classes no later than twenty (20) hours after official stalling deadline and not before twelve (12) hours after stalling deadline.

<u>Charolais</u>

40. Eligibility requirement to show is purebred as verified by an American-International Charolais Association (AICA) registration certificate. An AICA registration certificate will indicate effective date of ownership. An animal is eligible to enter or compete in an open Charolais breeding class if registered in country of origin outside the United States and is eligible for purebred registry in the AICA Herd Book.

- 41. Animals registered in the AICA Colored Division Registry (QF and QM initialed registration numbers) must meet the parameters of the AICA Color Card.
- 42. All animals to be eligible may be approved by a sifting committee designated by the AICA.
- 43. Any animal not having a legible tattoo or firebrand number is ineligible and will be barred from showing.
- 44. Junior and Senior Bulls must have a valid, satisfactory semen test certificate in possession. This certificate is valid for the entire show season.
- 45. All animals are subject to a medical examination in order to determine age, and each animal will be present in the show ring in its natural conformation without alteration or modification.
- 46. AICA requires that all animals be shown with a halter and suggest that all bulls be shown with a nose lead.
- 47. All exhibits of Charolais Breeding Cattle shall be governed by the AICA Rules and Regulations, Article XV, Exhibitions of Animals. The inspection of exhibit cattle is specified in Article XV, Paragraph C, and consequence of non-compliance of exhibit inspection is specified in Paragraph D of the same article.
- 48. Individual classes of both sexes will be divided by an appointed committee as nearly equal as possible with no more than twenty (20) classes. Variation of division of numbers per class will be dependent upon age differential. The appointed committee will make official division of classes no later than twenty (20) hours after official stalling deadline and not before twelve (12) hours after stalling deadline.

Simmental

- 49. Eligibility requirement to show for females and bulls is purebred as verified by an official American Simmental Association (ASA) registration certificate. Eligibility requirement for steers to show is 1/2 or higher as verified by an ASA registration certificate. Commercial percent shall not be included as part of Simmental classification percentage. Simmental registration certificate will indicate effective date of ownership.
- 50. Calves born in 2023 must have a registration paper to verify them.
- 51. Any animal not having a legible tattoo is ineligible to compete and will be barred from showing.
- 52. Individual classes of both sexes will be divided by an appointed committee as nearly equal as possible with no more than twenty-six (26) classes.

Low Percent Simmentals

- 53. Eligibility requirements for females and bulls to show is 1/2 SM to 3/4 SM and a recorded registration certificate with the American Simmental Association (ASA).
- 54. Calves born in 2023 must have a registration paper to verify them.
- 55. Any animal not having a legible tattoo is ineligible to compete and will be barred from showing.
- 56. Individual classes of both sexes will be divided by an appointed committee as nearly equal as possible with no more than twenty-six (26) classes.

Limousin and Limousin Flex

- 57. All animals must be registered with the North American Limousin Foundation (NALF). Any animal over thirty (30) days of age, including calves to be shown at side of dam, must have proof of a registration certificate and be recorded with the NALF. For ET calves, parentage verification paperwork must be in the NALF system. All animals must be 75% (NALF Percentage, not actual), or greater, as indicated on orange NALF registration certificate or purple-papered Lim-Flex Cattle as indicated by NALF registration certificate. Percentage, full blood, Purebred and Lim-Flex shall compete in same classes and championships.
- 58. Any animal not having a legible tattoo is ineligible to compete and will be barred from showing.
- 59. Individual classes of both sexes will be divided by an appointed committee as nearly equal as possible with no more than twenty (20) classes. No class shall contain more than twenty (20) head or have an age spread of more than sixty (60) days unless the animals are over two (2) years old.
- 60. All bulls over one (1) year of age must show with a nose-lead.
- 61. Calves exhibited alongside dams in the cow/calf division are eligible to show as individuals as long as the calf is registered and qualifies as determined by purple registration papers from NALF. All animals shown must be solid red or black above the flanks, excluding birth marks.

Maine Anjou and Mainetainer

- 62. All animals must be registered in the American Maine Anjou Association (AMAA) as verified by an official AMAA registration certificate. All Maine Anjou females and bulls must be 75% or greater. Mainetainer females and bulls must be one quarter or greater.
- 63. Any animal not having a legible tattoo is ineligible to compete and will be barred from showing.
- 64. Animals over seven (7) months of age must be dehorned.
- 65. Heifers exhibited at twenty (20) months of age or older must be accompanied by a certificate of pregnancy. For heifers used in embryo transfer, a certificate of positive fertility issued by a licensed veterinarian must be available for inspection.
- 66. Bulls exhibited at fourteen (14) months of age or older must have had a positive semen test and a certificate to that effect must be available for inspection.
- 67. Individual classes of both sexes will be divided by an appointed committee as nearly equal as possible with no more than twenty (20) classes. Variation of division of numbers per class will be dependent upon age differential. The appointed committee will make official division of classes no later than twenty (20) hours after official stalling deadline and not before twelve (12) hours after stalling deadline.
- 68. All bulls twenty (20) months of age and older must show with a nose-lead.
- 69. Any and all cattle shall be available to have hair pulled for parentage verification, detection of foreign substances, or the presence of alterations. If recorded parent is excluded as a result of blood typing the owner may, at his expense, request the AMAA determine actual parentage. Failure to determine parentage will result in disqualification of that animal from the AMAA herd book.

SPECIFIC RULES FOR SHOWMANSHIP

- 70. Exhibitors *must* show their own animal in the showmanship competition and animals shown *must* be entered in the current Du Quoin State Fair Junior Beef Show.
- 71. Showmanship participants *must* meet requirements outlined in the *Department Rules.*
- 72. There will be approximately (6) Showmanship Divisions. The number of participants in each Division will be established by dividing the total number of registered participants by six (6) to establish roughly equal numbers of participants in each Division. Divisions will be determined at the discretion of the Superintendent whose decision shall be final. The Judge will determine the number of exhibitors from each Division chosen to participate in the Supreme Showmanship competition.
- 73. Divisions will be posted immediately preceding the Showmanship competition.
- 74. Showmen in all Divisions will lead a clean, un-groomed and clipped animal. There should be no tail balling, glue on legs, etc. Judging will be based on:
 - A. Showing of the animal;
 - B. Knowledge of the project; and
 - C. Personal appearance.

SPECIAL DEFINITIONS AND RECOGNITIONS

EXHIBITOR DEFINITION IN CERTAIN CLASSES: In individual classes, the exhibitor is defined as the person whose name appears on the registration paper as the owner. In group classes where the herd is one (1) unit with animals registered in the names of different members of a family residing on one (1) farm, entries may be made under the name of a single exhibitor.

<u>PAIR OF FEMALES</u>: Group consists of two (2) female animals of any age bred and owned or co-owned by breeder/exhibitor. Animals must be shown in individual classes.

<u>PAIR OF BULLS</u>: Group consists of two (2) bulls of any age bred and owned or coowned by breeder/exhibitor. Animals must be shown in individual classes.

<u>JUNIOR GET OF SIRE</u>: Group to consist of three (3) animals by one (1) sire with both sexes represented. Animals must be shown in individual classes.

<u>BREEDERS HERD OF FOUR</u>: Group to consist of four (4) animals, with both sexes represented, owned or co-owned by breeder/exhibitor. Animals must be shown in individual classes.

<u>PREMIERE HERDSMAN AWARD</u>: Upon decision of the Beef Cattle Superintendent, an award will be given by the Du Quoin State Fair to the Premiere Herdsman in each breed.

SPECIAL AWARDS

Junior Show Division

<u>GRAND CHAMPION FEMALE</u>: The Champion Female of each breed will compete for Grand Champion Female of the Junior Show on Saturday, August 31, 2024. Through a generous contribution of BUY-A-FARM, the Du Quoin State Fair will award a \$1,000.00 additional monetary award to the exhibitor of the Grand Champion Female and a \$500.00 additional monetary award to the exhibitor of the Reserve Grand Champion Female of the 2024 Du Quoin State Fair Junior Show.

<u>GRAND CHAMPION STEER</u>: The Champion Steer of each breed will compete for Grand Champion Steer of the Junior Show on Monday, September 2, 2024. The State Fair will award a \$1,000.00 additional monetary award to the exhibitor of the Grand Champion Steer of the 2024 Du Quoin State Fair Junior Show.

<u>SUPREME SHOWMANSHIP CHAMPION</u>: Through the generous donation of Bramlet Simmentals, the Supreme Showmanship Champion of the 2024 Du Quoin State Fair Junior Beef Cattle Show will be awarded \$500.

Open Show Division

<u>CHAMPIONSHIP PREMIUM AWARDS</u>: The exhibitor of the Grand Champion Female and Grand Champion Bull of each breed will receive an additional premium award of \$65.00.

<u>SUPREME CHAMPION FEMALE</u>: The Grand Champion Female of each breed will compete for Supreme Champion Female of the Open Show on Sunday, Sept. 1, 2024.

SUPREME CHAMPION BULL: The Grand Champion Bull of each breed will compete for Supreme Champion Bull of the Open Show on Sunday, Sept. 1, 2024.

DIVISION 1 OPEN BEEF CATTLE SHOW

Section 01 - Angus

<u>Junior heifer calf</u> born on or after Jan. 1, 2024 <u>Winter heifer calf</u> born between Nov. 1 and Dec. 31, 2023 <u>Senior heifer calf</u> born between Sept. 1 and Oct. 31, 2023 Champion Heifer Calf Reserve Champion Heifer Calf	Open Class 01001 01002 01003 01004 01005
Summer yearling heifer born between July 1 and Aug. 31, 2023	01006
Late spring yearling heifer born between May 1 and June 30, 2023	01007
Early spring yearling heifer born between Mar. 1 and Apr. 30, 2023	01008
Champion Junior Heifer	01009
Reserve Champion Junior Heifer	01010
<u>Junior yearling heifer</u> born between Jan. 1 and last day of Feb. 2023	01011
<u>Senior Yearling Heifer</u> born between Sept. 1 and Dec. 31, 2022	01012
Champion Senior Heifer	01013
Reserve Champion Senior Heifer	01014
Grand Champion Heifer	01015
Reserve Grand Champion Heifer	01016
Pair of Females	01017
Junior Bull Calf born after Jan. 1, 2024	01018
Senior Bull Calf Born between Sept 1 and Dec. 31, 2023	01019
Champion Bull Calf	01020
Reserve Champion Bull Calf	01021
Summer Yearling Bull born between May 1 and Aug. 30, 2023	01022
Late Junior Yearling Bull born between Mar. 1 and April 30, 2023	01023
Early Junior Yearling Bull born between Jan. 1 and last day of Feb. 202	3 01024
Junior Champion Bull	01025
Reserve Junior Champion Bull	01026
Grand Champion Bull	01027
Reserve Grand Champion Bull	01028
Pair of Bulls	01029
Junior Get of Sire	01030
Breeders Herd	01031
Premiere Herdsman Award	01032

Section 02 - Hereford/Polled Hereford

Section U2 - Hereford/Polied Hereford	
<u>Junior heifer calf</u> born on or after Jan. 1, 2024 <u>Winter heifer calf</u> born between Nov. 1 and Dec. 31, 2023 <u>Senior heifer calf</u> born between Sept. 1 and Oct. 31, 2023 Champion Heifer Calf Reserve Champion Heifer Calf	Open Class 01201 01202 01203 01204 01205
Summer yearling heifer born between July 1 and Aug. 31, 2023	01206
Late spring yearling heifer born between May 1 and June 30, 2023	01207
Early spring yearling heifer born between Mar. 1 and Apr. 30, 2023	01208
Champion Junior Heifer	01209
Reserve Champion Junior Heifer	01210
<u>Junior yearling heifer</u> born between Jan. 1 and last day of Feb. 2023	01211
<u>Senior Yearling Heifer</u> born between Sept. 1 and Dec. 31, 2022	01212
Champion Senior Heifer	01213
Reserve Champion Senior Heifer	01214
Grand Champion Heifer	01215
Reserve Grand Champion Heifer	01216
Pair of Females	01217
<u>Junior Bull Calf</u> born after Jan. 1, 2024	01218
<u>Senior Bull Calf</u> Born between Sept 1 and Dec. 31, 2023	01219
Champion Bull Calf	01220
Reserve Champion Bull Calf	01221
Summer Yearling Bull born between May 1 and Aug. 30, 2023	01222
Late Junior Yearling Bull born between Mar. 1 and April 30, 2023	01223
Early Junior Yearling Bull born between Jan. 1 and last day of Feb. 202	23 01224
Junior Champion Bull	01225
Reserve Junior Champion Bull	01226
Grand Champion Bull	01227
Reserve Grand Champion Bull	01228
Pair of Bulls	01229
Junior Get of Sire	01230
Breeders Herd	01231
Premiere Herdsman Award	01232

Section 03 - Low Percent Simmental

Section 03 - Low Percent Simmental	
<u>Junior heifer calf</u> born on or after Jan. 1, 2024 <u>Winter heifer calf</u> born between Nov. 1 and Dec. 31, 2023 <u>Senior heifer calf</u> born between Sept. 1 and Oct. 31, 2023 Champion Heifer Calf Reserve Champion Heifer Calf	Open Class 01301 01302 01303 01304 01305
<u>Summer yearling heifer</u> born between July 1 and Aug. 31, 2023 <u>Late spring yearling heifer</u> born between May 1 and June 30, 2023 <u>Early spring yearling heifer</u> born between Mar. 1 and Apr. 30, 2023 Champion Junior Heifer Reserve Champion Junior Heifer	01306 01307 01308 01309 01309 01310
<u>Junior yearling heifer</u> born between Jan. 1 and last day of Feb. 2023 <u>Senior Yearling Heifer</u> born between Sept. 1 and Dec. 31, 2022 Champion Senior Heifer Reserve Champion Senior Heifer	01311 01312 01313 01313 01314
Grand Champion Heifer	01315
Reserve Grand Champion Heifer	01316
Pair of Females	01317
<u>Junior Bull Calf</u> born after Jan. 1, 2024	01318
<u>Senior Bull Calf</u> Born between Sept 1 and Dec. 31, 2023	01319
Champion Bull Calf	01320
Reserve Champion Bull Calf	01321
<u>Summer Yearling Bull</u> born between May 1 and Aug. 30, 2023	01322
<u>Late Junior Yearling Bull</u> born between Mar. 1 and April 30, 2023	01323
<u>Early Junior Yearling Bull</u> born between Jan. 1 and last day of Feb. 202	23 01324
Junior Champion Bull	01325
Reserve Junior Champion Bull	01326
Grand Champion Bull	01327
Reserve Grand Champion Bull	01328
Pair of Bulls	01329
Junior Get of Sire	01330
Breeders Herd	01331
Premiere Herdsman Award	01332

Section 04 - Simmental

Section 04 - Simmental	•
<u>Junior heifer calf</u> born on or after Jan. 1, 2024 <u>Winter heifer calf</u> born between Nov. 1 and Dec. 31, 2023 <u>Senior heifer calf</u> born between Sept. 1 and Oct. 31, 2023 Champion Heifer Calf Reserve Champion Heifer Calf	Open Class 01401 01402 01403 01404 01405
<u>Summer yearling heifer</u> born between July 1 and Aug. 31, 2023	01406
<u>Late spring yearling heifer</u> born between May 1 and June 30, 2023	01407
<u>Early spring yearling heifer</u> born between Mar. 1 and Apr. 30, 2023	01408
Champion Junior Heifer	01409
Reserve Champion Junior Heifer	01410
<u>Junior yearling heifer</u> born between Jan. 1 and last day of Feb. 2023	01411
<u>Senior Yearling Heifer</u> born between Sept. 1 and Dec. 31, 2022	01412
Champion Senior Heifer	01413
Reserve Champion Senior Heifer	01414
Grand Champion Heifer	01415
Reserve Grand Champion Heifer	01416
Pair of Females	01417
<u>Junior Bull Calf</u> born after Jan. 1, 2024	01418
<u>Senior Bull Calf</u> Born between Sept 1 and Dec. 31, 2023	01419
Champion Bull Calf	01420
Reserve Champion Bull Calf	01421
<u>Summer Yearling Bull</u> born between May 1 and Aug. 30, 2023	01422
<u>Late Junior Yearling Bull</u> born between Mar. 1 and April 30, 2023	01423
<u>Early Junior Yearling Bull</u> born between Jan. 1 and last day of Feb. 202	23 01424
Junior Champion Bull	01425
Reserve Junior Champion Bull	01426
Grand Champion Bull	01427
Reserve Grand Champion Bull	01428
Pair of Bulls	01429
Junior Get of Sire	01430
Breeders Herd	01431
Premiere Herdsman Award	01432

Section 05 – Shorthorn/Polled Shorthorn

<u> Section 05 – Shorthorn/Poneu Shorthorn</u>	
<u>Junior heifer calf</u> born on or after Jan. 1, 2024 <u>Winter heifer calf</u> born between Nov. 1 and Dec. 31, 2023 <u>Senior heifer calf</u> born between Sept. 1 and Oct. 31, 2023 Champion Heifer Calf Reserve Champion Heifer Calf	Open Class 01501 01502 01503 01504 01505
<u>Summer yearling heifer</u> born between July 1 and Aug. 31, 2023	01506
<u>Late spring yearling heifer</u> born between May 1 and June 30, 2023	01507
<u>Early spring yearling heifer</u> born between Mar. 1 and Apr. 30, 2023	01508
Champion Junior Heifer	01509
Reserve Champion Junior Heifer	01510
<u>Junior yearling heifer</u> born between Jan. 1 and last day of Feb. 2023	01511
<u>Senior Yearling Heifer</u> born between Sept. 1 and Dec. 31, 2022	01512
Champion Senior Heifer	01513
Reserve Champion Senior Heifer	01514
Grand Champion Heifer	01515
Reserve Grand Champion Heifer	01516
Pair of Females	01517
<u>Junior Bull Calf</u> born after Jan. 1, 2024	01518
<u>Senior Bull Calf</u> Born between Sept 1 and Dec. 31, 2023	01519
Champion Bull Calf	01520
Reserve Champion Bull Calf	01521
<u>Summer Yearling Bull</u> born between May 1 and Aug. 30, 2023	01522
<u>Late Junior Yearling Bull</u> born between Mar. 1 and April 30, 2023	01523
<u>Early Junior Yearling Bull</u> born between Jan. 1 and last day of Feb. 202	23 01524
Junior Champion Bull	01525
Reserve Junior Champion Bull	01526
Grand Champion Bull	01527
Reserve Grand Champion Bull	01528
Pair of Bulls	01529
Junior Get of Sire	01530
Breeders Herd	01531
Premiere Herdsman Award	01532

Section 06 - All Other Breeds (AOB)

<u>Section 00 – All Other Dreeus (AOD)</u>	•
<u>Junior heifer calf</u> born on or after Jan. 1, 2024 <u>Winter heifer calf</u> born between Nov. 1 and Dec. 31, 2023 <u>Senior heifer calf</u> born between Sept. 1 and Oct. 31, 2023 Champion Heifer Calf Reserve Champion Heifer Calf	Open Class 01601 01602 01603 01604 01605
Summer yearling heifer born between July 1 and Aug. 31, 2023	01606
Late spring yearling heifer born between May 1 and June 30, 2023	01607
Early spring yearling heifer born between Mar. 1 and Apr. 30, 2023	01608
Champion Junior Heifer	01609
Reserve Champion Junior Heifer	01610
<u>Junior yearling heifer</u> born between Jan. 1 and last day of Feb. 2023	01611
<u>Senior Yearling Heifer</u> born between Sept. 1 and Dec. 31, 2022	01612
Champion Senior Heifer	01613
Reserve Champion Senior Heifer	01614
Grand Champion Heifer	01615
Reserve Grand Champion Heifer	01616
Pair of Females	01617
<u>Junior Bull Calf</u> born after Jan. 1, 2024	01618
<u>Senior Bull Calf</u> Born between Sept 1 and Dec. 31, 2023	01619
Champion Bull Calf	01620
Reserve Champion Bull Calf	01621
Summer Yearling Bull born between May 1 and Aug. 30, 2023	01622
Late Junior Yearling Bull born between Mar. 1 and April 30, 2023	01623
Early Junior Yearling Bull born between Jan. 1 and last day of Feb. 202	3 01624
Junior Champion Bull	01625
Reserve Junior Champion Bull	01626
Grand Champion Bull	01627
Reserve Grand Champion Bull	01628
Pair of Bulls	01629
Junior Get of Sire	01630
Breeders Herd	01631
Premiere Herdsman Award	01632
Supreme Champions Supreme Champion Female Supreme Champion Bull	01650 01651
FOR OFFICE USE ONLY 07	1700-01799

DIVISION 2 JUNIOR BEEF CATTLE SHOW

Section 1 - Angus

Junior Class

<u>Junior heifer calf</u> born on or after Jan. 1, 2024 <u>Winter heifer calf</u> born between Nov. 1 and Dec. 31, 2023 <u>Senior heifer calf</u> born between Sept. 1 and Oct. 31, 2023 <u>Summer yearling heifer</u> born between May 1 and Aug. 31, 2023 <u>Spring yearling heifer</u> born between Mar. 1 and Apr. 30, 2023 <u>Junior yearling heifer</u> born between Jan. 1 and last day of Feb. 2023 <u>Senior Yearling Heifer</u> born between Sept. 1 and Dec. 31, 2022 Champion Female Reserve Champion Female Pair of Females	02001 02002 02003 02006 02008 02009 02010 02011 02012 02013
Section 2 - Hereford/Polled Hereford	
	Junior Class
Junior heifer calf born on or after Jan. 1, 2024 Winter heifer calf born between Nov. 1 and Dec. 31, 2023 Senior heifer calf born between Sept. 1 and Oct. 31, 2023 Summer yearling heifer born between May 1 and Aug. 31, 2023 Spring yearling heifer born between Mar. 1 and Apr. 30, 2023 Junior yearling heifer born between Jan. 1 and last day of Feb. 2023 Senior Yearling Heifer born between Sept. 1 and Dec. 31, 2022 Champion Female Reserve Champion Female Pair of Females	02201 02202 02203 02206 02208 02209 02210 02211 02212 02213
Section 3 - Low Percent Simmental	
	Junior Class
Junior heifer calf born on or after Jan. 1, 2024 Winter heifer calf born between Nov. 1 and Dec. 31, 2023 Senior heifer calf born between Sept. 1 and Oct. 31, 2023 Summer yearling heifer born between May 1 and Aug. 31, 2023 Spring yearling heifer born between Mar. 1 and Apr. 30, 2023 Junior yearling heifer born between Jan. 1 and last day of Feb. 2023 Senior Yearling Heifer born between Sept. 1 and Dec. 31, 2022 Champion Female Reserve Champion Female Pair of Females	02301 02302 02303 02306 02308 02309 02310 02311 02312 02313

Section 4 - Simmental

Junior Class

Junior heifer calf born on or after Jan. 1, 2024	02401
Winter heifer calf born between Nov. 1 and Dec. 31, 2023	02402
Senior heifer calf born between Sept. 1 and Oct. 31, 2023	02403
Summer yearling heifer born between May 1 and Aug. 31, 2023	02406
Spring yearling heifer born between Mar. 1 and Apr. 30, 2023	02408
Junior yearling heifer born between Jan. 1 and last day of Feb. 2023	02409
Senior Yearling Heifer born between Sept. 1 and Dec. 31, 2022	02410
Champion Female	02411
Reserve Champion Female	02412
Pair of Females	02413
Summer yearling heifer born between May 1 and Aug. 31, 2023 Spring yearling heifer born between Mar. 1 and Apr. 30, 2023 Junior yearling heifer born between Jan. 1 and last day of Feb. 2023 Senior Yearling Heifer born between Sept. 1 and Dec. 31, 2022 Champion Female Reserve Champion Female	02406 02408 02409 02410 02411 02412

Section 5 – Shorthorn/Polled Shorthorn

Junior heifer calf born on or after Jan. 1, 2024	02501
Winter heifer calf born between Nov. 1 and Dec. 31, 2023	02502
Senior heifer calf born between Sept. 1 and Oct. 31, 2023	02503
Summer yearling heifer born between May 1 and Aug. 31, 2023	02506
Spring yearling heifer born between Mar. 1 and Apr. 30, 2023	02508
Junior yearling heifer born between Jan. 1 and last day of Feb. 2023	02509
Senior Yearling Heifer born between Sept. 1 and Dec. 31, 2022	02510
Champion Female	02511
Reserve Champion Female	02512
Pair of Females	02513

Section 6 - All Other Breeds (AOB)

Junior Class

Junior Class

Junior heifer calf born on or after Jan. 1, 2024	02601
Winter heifer calf born between Nov. 1 and Dec. 31, 2023	02602
Senior heifer calf born between Sept. 1 and Oct. 31, 2023	02603
Summer yearling heifer born between May 1 and Aug. 31, 2023	02606
Spring yearling heifer born between Mar. 1 and Apr. 30, 2023	02608
Junior yearling heifer born between Jan. 1 and last day of Feb. 2023	02609
Senior Yearling Heifer born between Sept. 1 and Dec. 31, 2022	02610
Champion Female	02611
Reserve Champion Female	02612
Pair of Females	02613

Grand Champion

Grand Champion Female	02614
Reserve Grand Champion Female	02615

Section 7 - Steers

<u>Breed</u>	<u>Junior Class</u>
<u>Angus</u>	02700
Champion Angus Steer	02708
Reserve Champion Angus Steer	02709
Hereford and Polled Hereford	02710
Champion Hereford Steer	02718
Reserve Champion Hereford Steer	02719
Shorthorn	02720
Champion Shorthorn Steer	02728
Reserve Champion Shorthorn Steer	02729
Simmental	02730
Champion Simmental Steer	02738
Reserve Champion Simmental Steer	02739
All Other Registered Breeds (AOB)	02740
Champion AOB Steer	02748
Reserve Champion AOB Steer	02749
Crossbred	02750
Champion Crossbred Steer	02758
Reserve Champion Crossbred Steer	02759
Grand Champion	
Grand Champion Steer	02760
Reserve Grand Champion Steer	02761
Third Overall Champion Steer	02762
Fourth Overall Champion Steer	02763
Fifth Overall Champion Steer	02764
FOR OFFICE USE ONLY	02900-02999

Section 8 - Showmanship

Junior Class

Division 1 Showmanship	02800
Champion Division 1 Showman	02801
Reserve Champion Division 1 Showman	02802
Division 2 Showmanship	02803
Champion Division 2 Showman	02804
Reserve Champion Division 2 Showman	02805
Division 3 Showmanship	02806
Champion Division 3 Showman	02807
Reserve Champion Division 3 Showman	02808
Division 4 Showmanship	02809
Champion Division 4 Showman	02810
Reserve Champion Division 4 Showman	02811
Division 5 Showmanship	02812
Champion Division 5 Showman	02813
Reserve Division 5 Showman	02814
Division 6 Showmanship	02815
Champion Division 6 Showman	02816
Reserve Division 6 Showman	02817
Supreme Champion Showman	02818
	-

► END OF DEPARTMENT A – BEEF CATTLE ◄

<u>Department B – Dairy Cattle</u> Dairy Cattle Shows

Superintendent...... Dr. Brian Sager

Cell Phone 815-690-2737

Special Note: Beginning in 2024, Individual identification of each animal shall be by a USDA official animal identification number ear tag, ("840" tag), and in 2025, the tag must be able to be read both visually and electronically.

ANNOUNCEMENTS PREMIUMS

Total Premiums Offered in Open Show\$5,700.00Total Premiums Offered in Junior Show\$4,200.00Premiums will be pro-rated according to participation and pay up to four (4) places.

ENTRIES

Open Show Entry Fee is \$15.00 per head and Junior Show Entry Fee is \$10.00 per head.

Additionally, each Livestock Exhibitor must purchase a \$30.00 Exhibitor's Pass. Additional passes may be purchased for helpers, fitters, groomers, etc. for \$30.00 each.

Checks should be made payable to the **Du Quoin State Fair**.

Special Note: There will be no refunds of Entry Fees or Exhibitor Passes under any circumstances.

Entry forms may be secured through the State Fair Entry Department at 618/542-1509 or 618/542-1525 or at the State Fair website www.duquoinstatefair.net. *Entry forms should be mailed to the Du Quoin State Fair, Competitive Events, 655 Executive Drive, Du Quoin, IL 62832.*

All entries *must be* postmarked by August 9, 2024. Late entries will be accepted with a late entry fee of \$50.00 per head until 4:00 pm August 16, 2024. *Positively no entries will be accepted postmarked after August 16, 2024.*

SCHEDULE

Stalls Available	12:00 noon, Wednesday, August 21
Animals Must Be Stalled No Later Than.	6:00 pm, Thursday, August 22
Animal Check-in	2:00-5:00 pm, Friday, August 23
Animals Released	after Open Show, Sunday, August 25

BREED ORDER

For both Junior and Open Dairy Cattle Shows, animals will be shown by age groups with breeds rotating within those groups as follows:

All Other Breeds (AOB) Jersey Brown Swiss Holstein

SHOW SCHEDULE

(Start times may vary slightly from the following schedule. Breed shows will follow sequentially after a short break between breeds. Listen for announcements.)

Saturday, August 24 9:00 am - Junior Show Sunday, August 25 9:00 am - Open Show 2:00 pm - Junior Show Overall Showmanship Contest 2:30 pm - Junior Show Supreme Champion Female Junior Show Champion Pair of Females Open Show Supreme Champion Female Open Show Grand Champion Best Three Head

DEPARTMENT RULES

- Each exhibitor must comply with the Illinois Exhibition Health Requirements; Animal Care, Drug, Testing and Welfare Policies; and General Rules of the Livestock Division as previously stated.
- Purebred animals must be recorded in their respective National Breed Book as evidenced by official registration papers or certificate of registration. Certificates from breed association representatives will not be accepted in lieu of registration papers and no copies or stamped duplicate of official registration will be accepted.
- The effective date of ownership must appear on the registration papers. In all cases, the required ownership date, transfer date included, for all animals exhibited at the Du Quoin State Fair is thirty (30) days prior to the opening day of the fair.
- 4. Exhibitors are allowed open substitution across class numbers in the dairy show.
- 5. Entries in Junior Heifer Calf classes, in all breeds, must be at least four (4) months of age on show day.
- 6. Entries in the cow classes may or may not be in milk; however, all animals in milk must show in cow classes.
- 7. Only one entry will be allowed per exhibitor in Group Classes and each individual animal must have been shown in their respective classes. Further, animals in the Best Two Females, Dam and Daughter and Best Three Head classes may be of any age and all must be bred and owned by one exhibitor.
- 8. Bedding *must be* furnished by the exhibitor.
- 9. Dairy Cattle Exhibitors will not be paid for milk produced on the fairgrounds. Milk will be collected in milk cans and hauled away as fluid waste.
- 10. Upon decision of the Dairy Cattle Superintendent, an award will be given to the Premiere Herdsman in each dairy cattle breed. Herdsman Awards will be based upon entry preparedness, cleanliness of animals, promptness to the showring, showmanship and courtesy to other exhibitors and fair patrons.
- 11. Do not enter Championship Classes.

SPECIAL DEFINITIONS AND RECOGNITIONS

EXHIBITOR DEFINITION IN CERTAIN CLASSES: In individual classes, the exhibitor is defined as the person whose name appears on the registration paper as the owner. In group classes where the herd is one (1) unit with animals registered in the names of different members of a family residing on one (1) farm, entries may be made under the name of a single exhibitor.

<u>PAIR OF FEMALES</u>: Group consists of two (2) female animals of any age bred and owned or co-owned by breeder/exhibitor. Animals must be shown in individual classes.

<u>DAM AND DAUGHTER</u>: Both females must be entered and shown in respective classes. Animals may be owned by more than one (1) exhibitor.

<u>BEST THREE HEAD</u>: Any age, all three (3) bred and owned by one exhibitor/farm. <u>PREMIERE HERDSMAN AWARD</u>: Upon decision of the Dairy Cattle Superintendent, an award will be given by the Du Quoin State Fair to the Premiere Herdsman in each breed.

SPECIAL AWARDS

Junior Show Division

<u>CHAMPIONSHIP PREMIUM AWARDS</u>: The exhibitor of the Champion Heifer and Grand Champion Female of each breed will receive an additional premium award of \$60.00.

OVERALL SHOWMANSHIP CHAMPION: The Champion Showman of each breed will compete for Overall Showmanship Champion (the Frank Bigham Memorial Showmanship Award, generously donated by the Frank Bigham Family) of the 2024 Du Quoin State Fair Junior Dairy Show.

<u>SUPREME CHAMPION FEMALE</u>: The Grand Champion Female of each breed will compete for the Supreme Champion Dairy Cattle Female of the 2024 Du Quoin State Fair Junior Dairy Cattle Show. Through a generous contribution of BUY-A-FARM, the Du Quoin State Fair will award a \$500.00 additional monetary award to the exhibitor of the 2024 Supreme Champion Female of the Junior Dairy Cattle Show.

<u>CHAMPION PAIR OF FEMALES</u>: The first place Pair of Females of each breed will compete for Champion Pair of Females of the 2024 Du Quoin State Fair Junior Dairy Cattle Show. Through a generous contribution of BUY-A-FARM, the Du Quoin State Fair will award a \$250.00 additional monetary award to the exhibitor of the Champion Pair of Females of the Junior Dairy Cattle Show.

Open Show Division

CHAMPIONSHIP PREMIUM AWARDS: The exhibitor of the Champion Heifer and Grand Champion Female of each breed will receive an additional premium award of \$60.00.

<u>SUPREME CHAMPION FEMALE</u>: The Grand Champion Female of each breed will compete for the Supreme Champion Female of the 2024 Du Quoin State Fair Open Dairy Cattle Show.

<u>CHAMPION BEST THREE HEAD</u>: The first place Best Three Head of each breed will compete for Champion Best Three Head of the 2024 Du Quoin State Fair Open Dairy Cattle Show.

DIVISION 1 OPEN DAIRY CATTLE SHOW Section 01 - Jersey

	Open Class
Junior heifer calf born on or after March 1, 2024	03001
Intermed. heifer calf born between Dec. 1, 2023 & last day of Feb. 2024	03002
Senior heifer calf born between Sept. 1 and Nov. 30, 2023	03003
Summer yearling heifer born between June 1 and Aug. 31, 2023	03004
Junior yearling heifer born between March 1 and May 31, 2023	03005
Intermed. yearling heifer born between Dec. 1, 2022 & last day of Feb. 20	23 03006
Senior yearling heifer born between Sept. 1 and Nov. 30, 2022	03007
Junior Champion Female	03008
Reserve Junior Female	03009
2 year cow born between Sept. 1, 2021 and Aug. 31, 2022	03010
3 year cow born between Sept. 1, 2020 and Aug. 31, 2021	03011
<u>4 year cow and over</u> born before Sept. 1, 2020	03012
Champion Female	03013
Reserve Senior Champion Female	03014
Grand Champion Female	03015
Reserve Grand Champion Female	03016
Pair of Females	03017
Dam and Daughter	03018
Best Three Head	03019
Premiere Herdsman Award	03020
Continue 00 Unlaterin	

Section 02 - Holstein

Open Class

Junior heifer calf born on or after March 1, 2024	03101
Intermed. heifer calf born between Dec. 1, 2023 & last day of Feb. 2024	03102
Senior heifer calf born between Sept. 1 and Nov. 30, 2023	03103
Summer yearling heifer born between June 1 and Aug. 31, 2023	03104
Junior yearling heifer born between March 1 and May 31, 2023	03105
Intermed. yearling heifer born between Dec. 1, 2022 & last day of Feb. 2023	03106
Senior yearling heifer born between Sept. 1 and Nov. 30, 2022	03107
Junior Champion Female	03108
Reserve Junior Female	03109
2 year cow born between Sept. 1, 2021 and Aug. 31, 2022	03110
3 year cow born between Sept. 1, 2020 and Aug. 31, 2021	03111
<u>4 year cow and over born before Sept. 1, 2020</u>	03112
Champion Female	03113
Reserve Senior Champion Female	03114
Grand Champion Female	03115
Reserve Grand Champion Female	03116
Pair of Females	03117
Dam and Daughter	03118
Best Three Head	03119
Premiere Herdsman Award	03120

Section 03 – Brown Swiss

<u>Section 03 – Brown Swiss</u>	
	<u>Open Class</u>
Junior heifer calf born on or after March 1, 2024	03201
Intermed. heifer calf born between Dec. 1, 2023 & last day of Feb. 2024	03202
Senior heifer calf born between Sept. 1 and Nov. 30, 2023	03203
Summer yearling heifer born between June 1 and Aug. 31, 2023	03204
Junior yearling heifer born between March 1 and May 31, 2023	03205
Intermed. yearling heifer born between Dec. 1, 2022 & last day of Feb. 20	023 03206
Senior yearling heifer born between Sept. 1 and Nov. 30, 2022	03207
Junior Champion Female	03208
Reserve Junior Female	03209
2 year cow born between Sept. 1, 2021 and Aug. 31, 2022	03210
<u>3 year cow</u> born between Sept. 1, 2020 and Aug. 31, 2021	03211
<u>4 year cow and over</u> born before Sept. 1, 2020	03212
Champion Female	03213
Reserve Senior Champion Female	03214
Grand Champion Female	03215
Reserve Grand Champion Female	03216
Pair of Females	03217
Dam and Daughter	03218
Best Three Head	03219
Premiere Herdsman Award	03220
Section 04 – All Other Breeds (AOB)	OOLLO
	Open Class
Junior heifer calf born on or after March 1, 2024	03401
Intermed. heifer calf born between Dec. 1, 2023 & last day of Feb. 2024	03402
Senior heifer calf born between Sept. 1 and Nov. 30, 2023	03403
Summer yearling heifer born between June 1 and Aug. 31, 2023	03404
Junior yearling heifer born between March 1 and May 31, 2023	03405
Intermed. yearling heifer born between Dec. 1, 2022 & last day of Feb. 20	
Senior yearling heifer born between Sept. 1 and Nov. 30, 2022	03407
Junior Champion Female	03408
Reserve Junior Female	03409
2 year cow born between Sept. 1, 2021 and Aug. 31, 2022	03410
<u>3 year cow</u> born between Sept. 1, 2020 and Aug. 31, 2021	03411
4 year cow and over born before Sept. 1, 2020	03412
Champion Female	03413
Reserve Senior Champion Female	03414
Grand Champion Female	03415
Reserve Grand Champion Female	03416
Pair of Females	03417
Dam and Daughter	03418
Best Three Head	03419
Premiere Herdsman Award	03420
Champion and Supreme Champion	00720
Supreme Champion Female	03421
Champion Best Three Head	03422
Shampion Boot Throo Houd	00722

DIVISION 2 JUNIOR DAIRY CATTLE SHOW

Section 1 - Jersey

Jur	nior Class
Junior heifer calf born on or after March 1, 2024	04001
Intermed. heifer calf born between Dec. 1, 2023 & last day of Feb. 2024	04002
Senior heifer calf born between Sept. 1 and Nov. 30, 2023	04003
Summer yearling heifer born between June 1 and Aug. 31, 2023	04004
Junior yearling heifer born between March 1 and May 31, 2023	04005
Intermed. yearling heifer born between Dec. 1, 2022 & last day of Feb. 2023	04006
Senior yearling heifer born between Sept. 1 and Nov. 30, 2022	04007
Junior Champion Female	04008
Reserve Junior Female	04009
2 year cow born between Sept. 1, 2021 and Aug. 31, 2022	04010
3 year cow born between Sept. 1, 2020 and Aug. 31, 2021	04011
<u>4 year cow and over</u> born before Sept. 1, 2020	04012
Champion Female	04013
Reserve Senior Champion Female	04014
Grand Champion Female	04015
Reserve Grand Champion Female	04016
Pair of Females	04017
Dam and Daughter	04018
Best Three Head	04019

Section 2 - Holstein

	Junior Class
Junior heifer calf born on or after March 1, 2024	04101
Intermed. heifer calf born between Dec. 1, 2023 & last day of Feb. 2024	04102
Senior heifer calf born between Sept. 1 and Nov. 30, 2023	04103
Summer yearling heifer born between June 1 and Aug. 31, 2023	04104
Junior yearling heifer born between March 1 and May 31, 2023	04105
Intermed. yearling heifer born between Dec. 1, 2022 & last day of Feb. 202	23 04106
Senior yearling heifer born between Sept. 1 and Nov. 30, 2022	04107
Junior Champion Female	04108
Reserve Junior Female	04109
2 year cow born between Sept. 1, 2021 and Aug. 31, 2022	04110
3 year cow born between Sept. 1, 2020 and Aug. 31, 2021	04111
4 year cow and over born before Sept. 1, 2020	04112
Champion Female	04113
Reserve Senior Champion Female	04114
Grand Champion Female	04115
Reserve Grand Champion Female	04116
Pair of Females	04117
Dam and Daughter	04118
Best Three Head	04119

Section 3 – Brown Swiss

	Junior Class
Junior heifer calf born on or after March 1, 2024	04201
Intermed. heifer calf born between Dec. 1, 2023 & last day of Feb. 2024	04202
Senior heifer calf born between Sept. 1 and Nov. 30, 2023	04203
Summer yearling heifer born between June 1 and Aug. 31, 2023	04204
Junior yearling heifer born between March 1 and May 31, 2023	04205
Intermed. yearling heifer born between Dec. 1, 2022 & last day of Feb. 202	23 04206
Senior yearling heifer born between Sept. 1 and Nov. 30, 2022	04207
Junior Champion Female	04208
Reserve Junior Female	04209
2 year cow born between Sept. 1, 2021 and Aug. 31, 2022	04210
3 year cow born between Sept. 1, 2020 and Aug. 31, 2021	04211
4 year cow and over born before Sept. 1, 2020	04212
Champion Female	04213
Reserve Senior Champion Female	04214
Grand Champion Female	04215
Reserve Grand Champion Female	04216
Pair of Females	04217
Dam and Daughter	04218
Best Three Head	04219

Section 4 - All Other Breeds (AOB)

	Junior Class
Junior heifer calf born on or after March 1, 2024	04401
Intermed. heifer calf born between Dec. 1, 2023 & last day of Feb. 2024	04402
Senior heifer calf born between Sept. 1 and Nov. 30, 2023	04403
Summer yearling heifer born between June 1 and Aug. 31, 2023	04404
Junior yearling heifer born between March 1 and May 31, 2023	04405
Intermed. yearling heifer born between Dec. 1, 2022 & last day of Feb. 20	23 04406
Senior yearling heifer born between Sept. 1 and Nov. 30, 2022	04407
Junior Champion Female	04408
Reserve Junior Female	04409
2 year cow born between Sept. 1, 2021 and Aug. 31, 2022	04410
3 year cow born between Sept. 1, 2020 and Aug. 31, 2021	04411
<u>4 year cow and over</u> born before Sept. 1, 2020	04412
Champion Female	04413
Reserve Senior Champion Female	04414
Grand Champion Female	04415
Reserve Grand Champion Female	04416
Pair of Females	04417
Dam and Daughter	04418
Best Three Head	04419

Overall Showmanship Champion

Champion Overall Showman (Frank Bigham Memorial Showmanship Award)	04420			
Reserve Champion Overall Showman	04421			
Champion and Supreme Champion				
Supreme Champion Female	04422			
Champion Pair of Females	04423			

► END OF DEPARTMENT B – DAIRY CATTLE ◄

<u>Department C – Draft Horses, Ponies and Mules</u> Open Draft Horse, Pony and Mule Show

Superintendent.....Phil Farrell; 217-855-9111

ALL HORSE, MULE AND PONY PARADE

All exhibitors are asked to participate in the All Horse, Mule and Pony Parade, with hitches, around the fairgrounds immediately following the Saturday afternoon show session.

ANNOUNCEMENTS

PREMIUMS

Total Premiums Offered in Open Show\$10,400.00	
Open Show Premiums will be paid as follows:	

Open Show Fremiums will be paid as follows						
Draft Pony Halter Classes	1st	2 nd	3 rd	4 th	5 th	6 th
All Halter Classes	\$45	\$30	\$25	\$15	\$10	NA
All Youth Showmanship Classes	\$20	\$10	\$10	\$10	\$10	\$10
Haflinger/Pony Hitches						
Men's and Women's Carts	\$75	\$45	\$30	\$20	\$15	\$10
Two Pony Hitch	\$75	\$45	\$30	\$20	\$15	\$10
Unicorn Hitch	\$145	\$115	\$85	\$60	\$22	\$20
Four Pony Hitch	\$145	\$115	\$85	\$60	\$22	\$20
Six Pony Hitch	\$220	\$215	\$170	\$145	\$120	\$95
Youth Cart Driver	\$10	\$10	\$10	\$10	\$10	\$10
Youth Two Pony Team	\$10	\$10	\$10	\$10	\$10	\$10
Draft Horses Halter Classes						
Stallion	\$75	\$55	NA	NA	NA	NA
Foal and Yearling	\$75	\$55	\$45	\$35	\$30	\$30
Mares	\$75	\$55	\$45	\$35	\$30	\$30
Mare and Foal	\$75	\$55	\$45	\$35	\$30	\$30
Gelding	\$75	\$55	\$45	\$35	\$30	\$30
Best Three Head	\$75	\$50	\$40	\$35	\$30	\$30
Draft Horse Hitches						
Cart	\$100	\$75	\$50	\$50	\$50	\$50
Team	\$200	\$150	\$100	\$100	\$75	\$75
Unicorn Hitch	\$300	\$250	\$200	\$200	\$150	\$150
Four Horse Hitch	\$400	\$300	\$250	\$250	\$250	\$250
Six Horse Hitch	\$600	\$500	\$400	\$400	\$300	\$300
Youth Cart	\$30	\$20	\$20	\$20	\$20	\$20
Mule Halter Classes						
All Individual Mules	\$50	\$40	\$30	\$25	NA	NA
Pair of Mules	\$50	\$40	\$30	\$25	NA	NA
Best Mule Display	\$80	\$65	\$60	\$40	NA	NA
Youth Showmanship	\$10	\$10	\$10	NA	NA	NA

Mule Hitches				
Single Mule Cart/Wagon	\$60	\$50	\$50	\$40
Mule Team	\$75	\$50	\$50	\$50
Four Mule Team	\$80	\$60	\$50	\$50
Single Mule Cart - Youth Driver	\$10	\$10	\$10	\$10
Single Mule Cart – Lady/Man Driver	\$60	\$50	\$50	\$40
Mule Farm Team - to be worked	\$50	\$50	\$50	\$50
Mule Jumping - under/over 51"	\$50	\$40	\$40	\$30
Mule Riding - open/gaited	\$50	\$40	\$40	\$30
Youth Showmanship	\$10	\$10	\$10	\$10

ENTRIES

Open Show Entry Fee is \$15.00 per head.

Additionally, each Livestock Exhibitor must purchase a \$30.00 Exhibitor's Pass. Additional passes may be purchased for helpers, fitters, groomers, etc. for \$30.00 each.

Checks should be made payable to the Du Quoin State Fair.

Special Note: There will be no refunds of Entry Fees or Exhibitor Passes under any circumstances.

Entry forms may be secured through the State Fair Entry Department at 618/542-1509 or 618/542-1525 or at the State Fair website www.duquoinstatefair.net. *Entry forms should be mailed to the Du Quoin State Fair, Competitive Events, 655 Executive Drive, Du Quoin, IL 62832.*

All entries *must be* postmarked by August 9, 2024. Late entries will be accepted with a late entry fee of \$50.00 per head until 4:00 August 16, 2024. *Positively no entries will be accepted postmarked after August 16, 2024.*

SCHEDULE

Stalls Available	8:00am, Friday, August 30
Animals Must Arrive by	6:00 pm, Friday, August 30
	beginning 12:00 noon, Friday, August 30
Animals Released	immediately after show, Sunday, September 1
Special Note: All horses must vacate the	e barn by 12:00 noon, Monday September 2.

SHOW SCHEDULE

<u>Saturday, Augu</u>	<u>ist 31</u>
9:00 am	Registered or Grade Haflinger Mares
	Registered or Grade Haflinger Geldings
	Draft Horse Stallions
	Draft Horse Mares
	Champion & Reserve Champion Draft Horse Mare
	Draft Horse Geldings
	Champion & Reserve Champion Draft Horse Gelding
	Grand and Reserve Grand Champion Draft Horse
	Youth Draft Horse Showmanship - 13 and under
	Youth Draft Horse Showmanship - 14-18
1:00 pm	Six Horse Hitch
	Six Pony Hitch
	Four Mule Hitch
	Four Draft Horse Hitch
	Four Pony Hitch
	Team of Mules
	Team of Draft Horses
	Team of Ponies
	Team of Mules - Youth Driver
	Team of Draft Horses - Youth Driver
	Team of Ponies - Youth Driver
	All Horse, Mule and Pony Parade
Sunday, Septer	<u>mber 1</u>
9:00 am	Mule Halter
	Mule Youth Showmanship
1:00 pm	Ride a Horse, Pony or Mule
	Six Horse Hitch
	Pony Unicorn Hitch
	Open Mule Riding
	Gaited Mule Riding
	Draft Horse Unicorn Hitch
	Pony Cart - Man Driver
	Mule Cart - Man Driver
	Draft Horse Cart - Man Driver
	Pony Cart - Lady Driver
	Mule Cart - Lady Driver
	Draft Horse Cart - Lady Driver
	Pony Cart - Youth Driver
	Draft Horse Cart - Youth Driver
	Mule Farm Team
	Mule Jumping - over 51"
	Mule Jumping - under 51"
	Single Mule to Cart or Wagon
	Mule Cart - Youth Driver

DEPARTMENT RULES

- 1. Each exhibitor must comply with the Illinois Exhibition Health Requirements; Animal Care, Drug, Testing and Welfare Policies; and General Rules as previously stated.
- 2. The ages of animals will be reckoned from January 1. All foals will be considered as one (1) year old on January 1 of year succeeding birth.
- 3. In all cases, pedigrees of horses *must* be traceable to the American or Foreign Stud Book for the particular breed in which the animal is registered. All applications for entry of horses or animals of record *must* be accompanied by the name of the breeder and the name and registration number of the sire and dam of the exhibited animal.
- 4. All Haflinger entries *must* be registered with a Haflinger Association. Further, in registered Haflinger classes, height limit will be determined by eligibility.
- 5. Ponies may only show in one (1) division.
- 6. Animals owned in partnership *must* be entered in all classes in the partnership name as it appears on the registration papers.
- 7. Copies of registration papers may accompany entry forms except for geldings and current year foals. Registration papers will be checked at the time of check-in.
- 8. In individual classes the exhibitor is defined as the person whose name appears on the registration paper as the owner. In group classes, where the herd is one (1) unit with animals registered in the name of different members of one (1) family residing on one (1) farm, entries may be made under the name of a single exhibitor.
- Exhibitors may enter only one (1) entry in a group class. In Produce of Dam and Getof-Sire classes, animals do *not* need to be owned by one (1) exhibitor. Further, geldings can be used in Produce of Dam and Get-of-Sire classes.
- 10. Animals shown in group classes must be entered and shown in individual classes.
- Exhibitors are limited to two (2) premiums in single classes and one (1) premium in group classes. Further, no premiums will be awarded to any animal or group of animals unless shown in the ring for judging.
- 12. Substitution may be made within the same class up to the time of check-in.
- 13. Any breed is allowed to show in the Hitch classes, unless designated for a specific breed. Mares, geldings or stallions may show in hitches. All horses and ponies must be decorated in the hitch classes with manes rolled and tails tied.
- 14. Men's and ladies' cart horse/pony must be a different animal. Youth drivers must have a competent adult on the seat.
- 15. Horse Mules can show with Mare Mules in pair classes.
- 16. Exhibitors and grooms must be *properly attired* in show ring; no blue jeans, shorts or T-shirts will be allowed.
- 17. Youth drivers competing in Youth Driving classes are not eligible for Adult Driving.
- 18. Only animals being judged will be allowed in the Show Arena.
- 19. When on exhibition in the Show Arena, each animal must be under bridle or halter and under the control of owner or employee who shall display ring cards to correspond with number in the official program. Any animal that is not being properly controlled by handler or driver will be immediately excused from the showring.
- 20. Animals *cannot* be tied outside of stalls and left unattended.
- 21. Stall areas are to be kept clean and neat. Decorating is encouraged.
- 22. Barn aisles will only be closed to the public when horses are being prepared for show in the aisles before and during show sessions.
- 23. Do not enter Championship Classes.

SPECIAL AWARDS

<u>CHAMPION MARE MULE AND HORSE MULE AND PAIR OF MULES</u>: An additional premium award of \$65 will be paid by the Du Quoin State Fair to the exhibitor of each of Champion Mare Mule, Champion Horse Mule and Champion Pair of Mules of the 2024 Du Quoin State Fair.

Section 01 - Haflinger/Draft Pony Halter

Registered Mare, 1 year old and under 5 Registered Mare, 5 year old and over Registered Gelding, 1 year old and under 5 Registered Gelding, 5 year old and over Registered Pair, 1 year old and under 5 Registered Pair, 5 year old and over Grade Ponies Youth Showmanship, exhibitors ages 14-18 Youth Showmanship, exhibitor age 13 and under	Open Class 05001 05002 05003 05004 05005 05006 05007 05008 05009
Section 02 - Pony Hitches	
Haflinger Cart, Man Driver Haflinger Cart, Lady Driver Haflinger Cart, Youth Driver Haflinger, Two Pony Hitch Haflinger Unicorn Hitch Haflinger Four Pony Hitch Six Pony Hitch	05051 05052 05053 05054 05055 05056 05056 05057 05058
Section 03 - Draft Horse Halter Classes	
Stallion, any age Champion Stallion (Ribbon Only) Foal and yearling Mare, 2-3 year olds Mare, 4 year olds and over - dry Mare, 4 year olds and over - wet Champion Mare (Ribbon Only) Reserve Champion Mare (Ribbon Only) Mare and Foal Geldings, any age Champion Gelding (Ribbon Only) Best Three Head Draft Horse Youth Showmanship – Exhibitors 13 and under Draft Horse Youth Showmanship – Exhibitors 14-18	05101 05102 05103 05104 05105 05106 05107 05108 05109 05110 05111 05112 05113 05114

Section 04 - Draft Horse Hitches

	<u>Open Class</u>
Cart - Man Driver	05150
Cart - Lady Driver	05151
Draft Team	05152
Unicorn Hitch	05153
Four Horse Hitch	05154
Cart - Youth Driver	05155
Six Horse Hitch I	05156
Six Horse Hitch II	05157
Open Riding (Ribbons Only)	05158
Section 05 - Mule Halter Classes	
Horse Mule, 3 year olds and under	05201
Horse Mule, 4 year olds and over	05202
Champion Horse Mule	05203
Mare Mule, 3 year olds and under	05204
Pair of Mules, 3 year olds and under	05205
Mare Mule, 4 year olds and over	05206
Pair of Mules, 3 year olds	05207
Champion Mare Mule (Ribbons Only)	05208
Pair of Mules, 4 year olds and over	05209
Champion Pair of Mules	05210
Best Display, three abreast to halter	05211
Mule Youth Showmanship	05212
Section 06 - Mule Hitches	
Mule Team	05251
Mule Unicorn Hitch	05252
Four Mule Hitch	05253
Single Mule Cart/Wagon	05254
Three Mules, abreast to wagon	05255
Youth Driver Mule Hitch	05256

► END OF DEPARTMENT C – DRAFT HORSES, PONIES AND MULES ◄

Department D – Sheep Junior Sheep Show

Superintendent..... Ed Whitcomb

Cell Phone 217-415-2924

ANNOUNCEMENTS

PREMIUMS

Total Premiums Offered in Junior Show......\$5,350.00Premiums will be pro-rated according to participation and pay up to five (5) places.

ENTRIES

Junior Show Entry Fee is \$5.00 per head.

Additionally, each Livestock Exhibitor must purchase a \$30.00 Exhibitor's Pass. Additional passes may be purchased for helpers, fitters, groomers, etc. for \$30.00 each.

Checks should be made payable to the Du Quoin State Fair.

Special Note: There will be no refunds of Entry Fees or Exhibitor Passes under any circumstances.

Entry forms may be secured through the State Fair Entry Department at 618/542-1509 or 618/542-1525 or at the State Fair website www.duquoinstatefair.net. *Entry forms should be mailed to the Du Quoin State Fair, Competitive Events, 655 Executive Drive, Du Quoin, IL 62832.*

All entries *must be* postmarked by August 19, 2024. Late entries will be accepted with a late entry fee of \$50.00 per head until 4:00 pm August 16, 2024. **Positively no entries** will be accepted postmarked after August 16, 2024.

SCHEDULE

Breeding Sheep ... after Market Lamb Check-in 9:00-10:00, Saturday, August 31

Animals Releasedafter Breed Show, Sunday, September 1

SHOW SCHEDULE

(Start times may vary slightly from the following schedule. Breed shows will follow sequentially. Watch and listen for announcements.)

Saturday, August 31 4:00 pm - Market Lamb Show

Sunday, September 1 9:00 am - Breeding Sheep Show Showmanship

DEPARTMENT RULES

- Each exhibitor must comply with the Illinois Exhibition Health Requirements; Animal Care, Drug, Testing and Welfare Policies; and General Rules of the Livestock Division as previously stated.
- Purebred animals must be recorded in their respective National Breed Book as evidenced by official registration papers or certificate of registration. Certificates from breed association representatives *will not* be accepted in lieu of registration papers and *no copies* of registration or stamped duplicate of official registration will be accepted.
- 3. The effective date of ownership must appear on the registration papers. In all cases, the required ownership date, transfer date included, for all animals exhibited at the Du Quoin State Fair is thirty (30) days prior to the opening day of the fair.
- 4. Exhibitors are allowed open substitution across class numbers in the sheep show through check-in.
- 5. Eligible market ewe lambs and wethers will be shown together in market lamb classes. Market ewes *cannot* be shown in the breeding show.
- 6. Market lambs will be shown by weight classes. Animals will be placed into weight divisions and classes based upon weights taken at check-in. A maximum of twelve (12) market lamb classes will be shown. All class breaks will be at the discretion of the Superintendent. Exhibitors must check posted class assignments and be at the showring with his/her animal when the assigned class is called.
- 7. Bedding *must be* furnished by the exhibitor.
- 8. Do not enter Championship Classes.

SPECIAL AWARDS

<u>GRAND AND RESERVE GRAND CHAMPION MARKET LAMB</u>: The Du Quoin State Fair will present a banner to the exhibitors of the Grand Champion and Reserve Grand Champion Market Lambs of the 2024 Du Quoin State Fair. Further, through a generous contribution of BUY-A-FARM, the Du Quoin State Fair will provide an additional premium award of \$400 to the exhibitor of the Grand Champion Market Lamb and an additional premium award of \$200 to the exhibitor of the Reserve Grand Champion Market Lamb.

<u>GRAND AND RESERVE GRAND CHAMPION EWE</u>: The Du Quoin State Fair will present a banner to the exhibitors of the Grand Champion and Reserve Grand Champion Ewes of the 2024 Du Quoin State Fair. Further, the State Fair will provide an additional premium award of \$400 to the exhibitor of the Grand Champion Ewe and an additional premium award of \$200 to the exhibitor of the Reserve Grand Champion Ewe.

<u>CHAMPION AND RESERVE CHAMPION OVERALL RAM LAMB</u>: The Du Quoin State Fair will present a banner to the exhibitors of the Champion and Reserve Champion Overall Ram Lamb of the 2024 Du Quoin State Fair. Further, the State Fair will provide an additional premium award of \$100 to the exhibitor of the Grand Champion Ewe and an additional premium award of \$500 to the exhibitor of the Reserve Grand Champion Ewe.

<u>CHAMPION EWES</u>: An additional premium award of \$50 will be paid by the Du Quoin State Fair to the exhibitor of the Champion Ewe of each Section and an additional premium award of \$25 will be paid by the Du Quoin State Fair to the exhibitor of the Reserve Champion Ewe of each Section of the 2024 Du Quoin State Fair.

DIVISION 1 JUNIOR MARKET LAMB SHOW Section 1 - All Purebred and Commercial Lambs

ocolion i vin i diobiod and o official Editioo	
Breed/Class	Junior Class
Hampshire	06000
Champion Hampshire Market Lamb	06008
Reserve Champion Hampshire Market Lamb	06009
Suffolk	06010
Champion Suffolk Market Lamb	06018
Reserve Champion Suffolk Market Lamb	06019
Shropshire	06020
Champion Shropshire Market Lamb	06028
Reserve Champion Shropshire Market Lamb	06029
Dorset	06030
Champion Dorset Market Lamb	06038
Reserve Champion Dorset Market Lamb	06039
Southdown	06040
Champion Southdown Market Lamb	06048
Reserve Champion Southdown Market Lamb	06049

Reserve Champion AOB Market Lamb0Natural Color0606Champion Natural Color Market Lamb0	6058 6059 60 6068
Reserve Champion Natural Color Market Lamb 0 White-Face Crossbred 0607	6069 '0
Champion White-Face Crossbred Market Lamb 0	6078 6079
Crossbred 0608	
Champion Crossbred Market Lamb 0	6088
Reserve Champion Crossbred Market Lamb 0	6089
Grand Champion	
	6090 6091

DIVISION 2 JUNIOR SHEEP SHOWMANSHIP

Junior Showmanship, exhibitors 8-11 years of age Intermediate Showmanship, exhibitors 12-15 years of age Senior Showmanship, exhibitors 16-21 years of age Junior Class 06092

06092 06093 06094

DIVISION 3 JUNIOR BREEDING SHEEP SHOW

Section 1 - Slick Shorn All Other Breeds (AOB) Meat Breeds

	Junior Class
Yearling ewe, lambed before Sept. 1, 2023 and less than 2 years old	06201
Fall ewe lamb, lambed between Sept. 1 and Dec. 31, 2023	06202
Spring ewe lamb, lambed Jan. 1, 2024 and after	06203
Ram lamb, Lambed Jan. 1, 2024 and after	06204
Champion Ewe	06205
Reserve Champion Ewe	06206
Section 2 – Southdown and Cheviots	
Yearling ewe, lambed before Sept. 1, 2023 and less than 2 years old	06211
Fall ewe lamb, lambed between Sept. 1 and Dec. 31, 2023	06212
Spring ewe lamb, lambed Jan. 1, 2024 and after	06213
Ram lamb, Lambed Jan. 1, 2024 and after	06214

Kannand, Lambed San. 1, 2024 and alter00214Champion Ewe06215Reserve Champion Ewe06216

Section 3 - All Other Breeds (AOB) Wool Breeds

Yearling ewe, lambed before Sept. 1, 2023 and less than 2 year	rs old 06221
Fall ewe lamb, lambed between Sept. 1 and Dec. 31, 2023	06222
Spring ewe lamb, lambed Jan. 1, 2024 and after	06223
Ram lamb, Lambed Jan. 1, 2024 and after	06224
Champion Ewe	06225
Reserve Champion Ewe	06226

Section 4 - Commercial

Yearling ewe, lambed before Sept. 1, 2023 and less than 2 years old	06231
Ewe lamb, Lightweight	06232
Ewe lamb, Medium Weight	06233
Ewe lamb, Heavyweight	06234
Champion Ewe	06235
Reserve Champion Ewe	06236

Section 5 - Fitted All Other Breeds (AOB) Meat Breeds

<u> </u>			
06241			
06242			
06243			
06244			
06245			
06246			
Grand Champions			
06250			
06251			
06252			
06253			

► END OF DEPARTMENT D - SHEEP ◄

Department E – Swine Junior Swine Show

Superintendent..... Jan Ridgely

Cell Phone 618-838-2012

Special Note: Beginning in 2024, Individual identification of each animal shall be by a USDA official animal identification number ear tag, ("840" tag), and in 2025, the tag must be able to be read both visually and electronically.

ANNOUNCEMENTS

PREMIUMS

Total Premiums Offered in Junior Show.....\$6,250.00Premiums will be pro-rated according to participation and pay up to five (5) places.

ENTRIES

Junior Show Entry Fee is \$5.00 per head.

Additionally, each Livestock Exhibitor must purchase a \$30.00 Exhibitor's Pass. Additional passes may be purchased for helpers, fitters, groomers, etc. for \$30.00 each.

Checks should be made payable to the Du Quoin State Fair.

Special Note: There will be no refunds of Entry Fees or Exhibitor Passes under any circumstances.

Entry forms may be secured through the State Fair Entry Department at 618/542-1509 or 618/542-1525 or at the State Fair website www.duquoinstatefair.net. *Entry forms should be mailed to the Du Quoin State Fair, Competitive Events, 655 Executive Drive, Du Quoin, IL 62832.*

All entries *must be* postmarked by August 9, 2024. Late entries will be accepted with a late entry fee of \$50.00 per head until 4:00 pm August 16, 2024. *Positively no entries will be accepted postmarked after August 16, 2024.*

SCHEDULE

Pens Available	6:00 pm, Thursday, August 22
Animals Must Be in Place No Later Than	Noon, Friday, August 23
Animal Check-in No Later Than	6:00 pm, Friday, August 23
Weighing of Barrows and Crossbred Gilts	Noon-6:00 pm, Friday, August 23
Animals Released	after Barrow Show, Sunday, August 25

SHOW SCHEDULE

(Start times may vary slightly from the following schedule. Breed shows will follow sequentially. Watch and listen for announcements.)

Saturday, August 24

1:00 pm - Showmanship Gilt Show following showmanship classes

Sunday, August 25

9:00 am - Barrow Show

DEPARTMENT RULES

- 1. Each exhibitor *must* comply with the Illinois Exhibition Health Requirements; Animal Care, Drug, Testing and Welfare Policies; and General Rules of the Livestock Division as previously stated.
- 2. All swine *must* be farrowed January 1, 2024 or after.
- 3. Each exhibitor will be allowed two entries per immediate family, firm or corporation in the weight classes. All entries *must* be made in the name of the actual owner(s). Animals *must* be the property of the exhibitor at time of entry. Firms or partnerships entering animals *must* have in existence at least thirty days prior to the opening of the show and in all cases *must* be bona fide.
- 4. All pens will be assigned by the Superintendent. Animals must be penned according to these assignments.
- 5. Upon arrival to the fairgrounds, exhibitors *must* report to the Superintendent's Office to pick up official entry cards which are to be completed and accompany the animal to the scales.
- 6. Purebred animals *must* be recorded in their respective National Breed Book as evidenced by official registration papers or certificate of registration. Certificates from breed association representatives *will not* be accepted in lieu of registration papers and *no copies* of registration or stamped duplicate of official registration will be accepted.
- 7. Ear notch and breed *must* be on entry form in order for the animal to show. Ear notches will be inspected to determine if they agree with those recorded on the registration papers of the animals exhibited.
- 8. Ear notches *must* be completely healed and visible. Any animals with ears showing signs of tampering will be disqualified with the Superintendent's decision being final.
- 9. The effective date of ownership *must* appear on the registration papers. In all cases, the required ownership date, transfer date included, for all animals exhibited at the Du Quoin State Fair is thirty (30) days prior to the opening day of the fair.
- 10. Exhibitors should enter the appropriate breed class for barrows and gilts and also indicate the total number of barrows and gilts to be shown.
- 11. Exhibitors are allowed open substitution across class numbers in the swine show through check-in.
- 12. Barrows and commercial gilts will be shown by weight classes. Animals will be placed into weight divisions and classes based upon weights taken at weigh-in. All class breaks will be at the discretion of the Superintendent. Exhibitors *must* check

posted class assignments and be at the showring with his/her animal when the assigned class is called.

- 13. Exhibitors *must* complete and submit an entry card, available from the Superintendent at the State Fair, for each animal to be shown. The cards *must* be completely filled out and legibly written providing the exhibitor's full name and address and the breed, class, ear notch, and registration number as appropriate. Completed entry cards *must* be available at the time of weigh-in. Registration papers will be checked against entry cards and returned to exhibitors.
- 14. Only exhibitors showing animals (not more than one per animal) and officials of the Du Quoin State Fair will be permitted in the showring during swine judging.
- 15. Bedding *must be* furnished by the exhibitor.
- 16. No washing of swine in the barns. Animals *must* be washed in the designated area only.
- 17. All pens and aisles are to be cleaned each day before 8:00 am.
- 18. Do not enter Championship Classes.

SPECIAL AWARDS

<u>GRAND AND RESERVE GRAND CHAMPION BARROW</u>: The Du Quoin State Fair will present a banner to the exhibitor of the Grand Champion Barrow of the 2024 Du Quoin State Fair. Further, due to the generous donation of Friends of Ed Thompson, the State Fair will present a \$400 Ed Thompson Memorial Award to the exhibitor of the Grand Champion Barrow and due to the generous donation of Seed Life/Brian Pittman, the State Fair will also provide an additional premium award of \$250 to the exhibitor of the Reserve Grand Champion Barrow. Further, the State Fair will provide additional premium awards to exhibitors of the 3rd, 4th and 5th Overall Champion Barrows in the amount of \$100, \$75 and \$50 respectively.

<u>GRAND AND RESERVE GRAND CHAMPION GILTS</u>: The Du Quoin State Fair will present a banner to the exhibitor of the Grand Champion Gilt of the 2024 Du Quoin State Fair. Further, through a generous contribution of BUY-A-FARM, the State Fair will provide an additional premium award of \$400 to the exhibitor of the Grand Champion Gilt and an additional premium award of \$200 to the exhibitor of the Reserve Grand Champion Gilt. The State Fair will also provide additional premium awards to the exhibitors of the 3rd, 4th and 5th Overall Champion Gilts in the amount of \$150, \$100 and \$75 respectively.

<u>CHAMPION GILTS</u>: An additional premium award of \$50 will be paid by the Du Quoin State Fair to the exhibitor of the Champion Gilt of each breed and an additional premium award of \$25 will be paid by the Du Quoin State Fair to the exhibitor of the Reserve Champion Gilt of each breed of the 2024 Du Quoin State Fair.

DIVISION 1 JUNIOR SWINE SHOWMANSHIP

Junior Showmanship, exhibitors 8-12 years of age
Intermediate Showmanship, exhibitors 13-16 years of age
Senior Showmanship, exhibitors 17-21 years of age

Junior Class
07001
07002
07003

DIVISION 2 - JUNIOR BARROW SHOW

	Junior Class
All Other Breeds (AOB)	07101
Champion AOB Barrow	07108
Reserve Champion AOB Barrow	07109
Berkshire	07111
Champion Berkshire Barrow	07118
Reserve Champion Berkshire Barrow	07119
Chester White	07121
Champion Chester White Barrow	07128
Reserve Champion Chester White Barrow	07129
Duroc	07131
Champion Duroc Barrow	07138
Reserve Champion Duroc Barrow	07139
Hampshire	07141
Champion Hampshire Barrow	07148
Reserve Champion Hampshire Barrow	07149
Hereford	07151
Champion Hereford Barrow	07158
Reserve Champion Hereford Barrow	07159
Poland China	07161
Champion Poland China Barrow	07168
Reserve Champion Poland China Barrow	07169
Spotted Swine	07171
Champion Spotted Barrow	07178
Reserve Champion Spotted Barrow	07179
Tamworth	07181
Champion Tamworth Barrow	07188
Reserve Champion Tamworth Barrow	07189
Yorkshire Okamaina Vadakin Damar	07191
Champion Yorkshire Barrow	07198
Reserve Champion Yorkshire Barrow	07199 07201
Crossbred Barrow Champion Lightweight Crossbred Barrow	07201
Reserve Champion Lightweight Crossbred Barrow	07218
	07219
Champion Middleweight Crossbred Barrow Reserve Champion Middleweight Crossbred Barrow	07220
Champion Heavyweight Crossbred Barrow	07221
Reserve Champion Heavyweight Crossbred Barrow	07222
Grand Champion	07225
Grand Champion Barrow	07224
Reserve Grand Champion Barrow	07224
Third Overall Champion Barrow	07225
Fourth Overall Champion Barrow	07220
Fifth Overall Champion Barrow	07228
	01220

DIVISION 3 - JUNIOR GILT SHOW

	•
	Junior Class
All Other Breeds (AOB)	07301
Champion AOB Gilt	07308
Reserve Champion AOB Gilt	07309
Berkshire	07311
Champion Berkshire Gilt	07318
Reserve Champion Berkshire Gilt	07319
Chester White	07321
Champion Chester White Gilt	07328
Reserve Champion Chester White Gilt	07329
Duroc	07331
Champion Duroc Gilt	07338
Reserve Champion Duroc Gilt	07339
<u>Hampshire</u>	07341
Champion Hampshire Gilt	07348
Reserve Champion Hampshire Gilt	07349
<u>Hereford</u>	07351
Champion Hereford Gilt	07358
Reserve Champion Hereford Gilt	07359
Poland China	07361
Champion Poland China Gilt	07368
Reserve Champion Poland China Gilt	07369
Spotted Swine	07371
Champion Spotted Gilt	07378
Reserve Champion Spotted Gilt	07379
Tamworth	07381
Champion Yorkshire Gilt	07388
Reserve Champion Yorkshire Gilt	07389
<u>Yorkshire</u>	07391
Champion Yorkshire Gilt	07398
Reserve Champion Yorkshire Gilt	07399
<u>Crossbred Gilt</u>	07401
Champion Lightweight Crossbred Gilt	07418
Reserve Champion Lightweight Crossbred Gilt	07419
Champion Middleweight Crossbred Gilt	07420
Reserve Champion Middleweight Crossbred Gilt	07421
Champion Heavyweight Crossbred Gilt	07422
Reserve Champion Heavyweight Crossbred Gilt	07423
Grand Champion	07404
Grand Champion Gilt	07424
Reserve Grand Champion Gilt	07425 07426
Third Overall Champion Gilt	07426 07427
Fourth Overall Champion Gilt	07427 07428
Fifth Overall Champion Gilt FIND OF DEPARTMENT E – SWINE	07428
END OF DEPARTMENT E - SWINE	

Department F – Dairy Goats

Dairy Goat Show

(The Du Quoin State Fair Dairy Goat Show is sanctioned by the American Dairy Goat Association and ADGA rules will govern the show. The Jr. Doe Show and Sr. Doe Show are not separately sanctioned.)

Superintendent...... Travis Cockburn Cell Phone 618-303-1938

ANNOUNCEMENTS

PREMIUMS

 Total Premiums Offered in Junior Show
 \$1,900.00

 Total Premiums Offered in Open Show
 \$1,900.00

 Premiums will be pro-rated according to participation and pay up to four (4) places.

ENTRIES

Open Show Entry Fee is \$10.00 per head and Junior Show Entry Fee is \$5.00 per head.

Additionally, each Livestock Exhibitor must purchase a \$30.00 Exhibitor's Pass. Additional passes may be purchased for helpers, fitters, groomers, etc. for \$30.00 each.

Checks should be made payable to the Du Quoin State Fair.

Special Note: There will be no refunds of Entry Fees or Exhibitor Passes under any circumstances.

Entry forms may be secured through the State Fair Entry Department at 618/542-1509 or 618/542-1525 or at the State Fair website www.duquoinstatefair.net. *Entry forms should be mailed to the Du Quoin State Fair, Competitive Events, 655 Executive Drive, Du Quoin, IL 62832.*

All entries *must be* postmarked by August 9, 2024. Late entries will be accepted with a late entry fee of \$50.00 per head until 4:00 pm August 16, 2024. *Positively no entries will be accepted postmarked after August 16, 2024.*

SCHEDULE

Pens Available	12:00 noon, Friday, August 30
Animals Must Be in Place No Later Than	
Animal Check-in	begins at 3:00 pm, Friday, August 30
Animals Released:	
Junior Show Only Animals	after Junior Show, Saturday, August 31

Open Show Animalsafter Open Show, Sunday, September 1

NOTE: Show order is *not* subject to change.

SHOW SCHEDULE

Saturday, August 31

9:00 am - Junior Showmanship Junior Show Milking Does Junior Show Kids and Dry Yearlings

Sunday, September 1

9:00 am - Open Show Milking Does Open Show Kids and Dry Yearlings

DEPARTMENT RULES

- Each exhibitor must comply with the Illinois Exhibition Health Requirements; Animal Care, Drug, Testing and Welfare Policies; and General Rules of the Livestock Division as previously stated.
- 2. Exhibitors may enter more than one (1) breed.
- 3. All registration papers must comply with ADGA Sanction Show requirements. Purebred animals must be recorded in their respective National Breed Book as evidenced by official registration papers or certificate of registration. Certificates from breed association representatives *will not* be accepted in lieu of registration papers and *no copies* of registration or stamped duplicate of official registration will be accepted.
- 4. The date shown on the registration papers will be taken as the effective date of ownership. In all cases, the required ownership date, transfer date included, for all animals exhibited at the Du Quoin State Fair is thirty (30) days prior to the opening day of the fair.
- 5. Exhibitors are allowed substitution within a class up to time of check-in.
- 6. No bucks may be entered or shown.
- 7. All pens are to be assigned by the Superintendent. Pens will be assigned on the basis of a minimum of four (4) mature and a minimum of five (5) kids per pen. Animals must be penned according to these assignments. Exhibitors are responsible for additional fencing if needed to separate or confine animals.
- 8. Class ages shall be computed from the Opening Day of the Fair, August 23, 2022.
- 9. No pre-show milkout will be held. Exhibitors should ensure that udders of milking does are not overly distended.
- 10. All goats must be properly groomed for showing and provided with a collar before entering the showring.
- 11. Do not enter Championship Classes.

SPECIAL AWARDS

<u>BEST DOE OF SHOW</u>: The Du Quoin State Fair will present a banner to the exhibitors of the Best Doe of the Junior and Open Shows at the 2024 Du Quoin State Fair. Further, the State Fair will provide an additional premium award of \$100 to the exhibitor of the Best Doe of Show in both the Junior and Open Shows.

DIVISION 1 JUNIOR DAIRY GOAT SHOWMANSHIP

Junior Showmanship, exhibitors 8-12 years of age Intermediate Showmanship, exhibitors 13-16 years of age Senior Showmanship, exhibitors 17-21 years of age

Junior Class

08101 08102 08103

DIVISION 2 JUNIOR DAIRY GOAT SHOW

Section 1 - All Other Breeds (AOB)

	Junior Class
Jr. Kid born on or after April 1, 2024	08501
Intermediate Kid born between Mar. 1 and 31, 2024	08502
Senior Kid born between Jan. 1 and last day of Feb., 2024	08503
Dry Yearling 1 year and under 2 not in milk	08504
Junior Champion Doe	08505
Reserve Junior Champion Doe	08506
Milking Yearling 1 year and under 2	08507
Milking Doe 2 years and under 4 years	08508
Milking Doe 4 years and older	08509
Senior Champion Doe	08510
Reserve Senior Champion Doe	08511
Grand Champion Doe	08512
Reserve Grand Champion Doe	08513

Section 2 - Nigerian Dwarf

	Junior Class
Jr. Kid born on or after April 1, 2024	08521
Intermediate Kid born between Mar. 1 and 31, 2024	08522
Senior Kid born between Jan. 1 and last day of Feb., 2024	08523
Dry Yearling 1 year and under 2 not in milk	08524
Junior Champion Doe	08525
Reserve Junior Champion Doe	08526
Milking Yearling 1 year and under 2	08527
Milking Doe 2 years and under 4 years	08528
Milking Doe 4 years and older	08529
Senior Champion Doe	08530
Reserve Senior Champion Doe	08531
Grand Champion Doe	08532
Reserve Grand Champion Doe	08533

Section 3 - Toggenburg

occupit of toggetholdig	
	Junior Class
Jr. Kid born on or after April 1, 2024	08541
Intermediate Kid born between Mar. 1 and 31, 2024	08542
Senior Kid born between Jan. 1 and last day of Feb., 2024	08543
Dry Yearling 1 year and under 2 not in milk	08544
Junior Champion Doe	08545
Reserve Junior Champion Doe	08546
Milking Yearling 1 year and under 2	08547
Milking Doe 2 years and under 4 years	08548
Milking Doe 4 years and older	08549
Senior Champion Doe	08550
Reserve Senior Champion Doe	08551
Grand Champion Doe	08552
Reserve Grand Champion Doe	08553
Section 4 - Alpine	

	Junior Class
Jr. Kid born on or after April 1, 2024	08561
Intermediate Kid born between Mar. 1 and 31, 2024	08562
Senior Kid born between Jan. 1 and last day of Feb., 202	08563
Dry Yearling 1 year and under 2 not in milk	08564
Junior Champion Doe	08565
Reserve Junior Champion Doe	08566
Milking Yearling 1 year and under 2	08567
Milking Doe 2 years and under 4 years	08568
Milking Doe 4 years and older	08569
Senior Champion Doe	08570
Reserve Senior Champion Doe	08571
Grand Champion Doe	08572
Reserve Grand Champion Doe	08573
<u>Section 5 - Saanen</u>	
	Junior Class
Jr. Kid born on or after April 1, 2024	08581
Intermediate Kid born between Mar. 1 and 31, 2024	08582
Senior Kid born between Jan. 1 and last day of Feb., 2024	08583
Dry Yearling 1 year and under 2 not in milk	08584
Junior Champion Doe	08585
Reserve Junior Champion Doe	08586
Milking Yearling 1 year and under 2	08587
Milking Doe 2 years and under 4 years	08588
Milking Doe 4 years and older	08589
Senior Champion Doe	08590

Reserve Senior Champion Doe Grand Champion Doe Reserve Grand Champion Doe 08591

08592

08593

Section 6 - Recorded Grades

	Junior Class
Jr. Kid born on or after April 1, 2024	08601
Intermediate Kid born between Mar. 1 and 31, 2024	08602
Senior Kid born between Jan. 1 and last day of Feb., 2024	08603
Dry Yearling 1 year and under 2 not in milk	08604
Junior Champion Doe	08605
Reserve Junior Champion Doe	08606
Milking Yearling 1 year and under 2	08607
Milking Doe 2 years and under 4 years	08608
Milking Doe 4 years and older	08609
Senior Champion Doe	08610
Reserve Senior Champion Doe	08611
Grand Champion Doe	08612
Reserve Grand Champion Doe	08613

Best Doe of Junior Show

Best Doe of Show

08614

DIVISION 3 OPEN DAIRY GOAT SHOW

Section 01 - All Other Breeds (AOB)

	09501
Jr. Kid born on or after April 1, 2024	09501
Intermediate Kid born between Mar. 1 and 31, 2024	09502
Senior Kid born between Jan. 1 and last day of Feb., 2024	09503
Dry Yearling 1 year and under 2 not in milk	09504
Junior Champion Doe	09505
Reserve Junior Champion Doe	09506
Milking Yearling 1 year and under 2	09507
Milking Doe 2 years and under 4 years	09508
Milking Doe 4 years and older	09509
Senior Champion Doe	09510
Reserve Senior Champion Doe	09511
Grand Champion Doe	09512
Reserve Grand Champion Doe	09513

Section 02 - Nigerian Dwarf

	<u>Open Class</u>
<u>Jr. Kid</u> born on or after April 1, 2023	09521
Intermediate Kid born between Mar. 1 and 31, 2023	09522
Senior Kid born between Jan. 1 and last day of Feb., 2023	09523
Dry Yearling 1 year and under 2 not in milk	09524
Junior Champion Doe	09525
Reserve Junior Champion Doe	09526

<u>Milking Yearling</u> 1 year and under 2	09527
<u>Milking Doe 2 years and under 4 years</u>	09528
<u>Milking Doe 4 years and older</u>	09529
Senior Champion Doe	09530
Reserve Senior Champion Doe	09531
Grand Champion Doe	09532
Reserve Grand Champion Doe	09533
<u>Section 03 - Toggenburg</u> <u>Jr. Kid</u> born on or after April 1, 2024 <u>Intermediate Kid</u> born between Mar. 1 and 31, 2024 <u>Senior Kid</u> born between Jan. 1 and last day of Feb., 2024 <u>Dry Yearling</u> 1 year and under 2 not in milk Junior Champion Doe Reserve Junior Champion Doe <u>Milking Yearling</u> 1 year and under 2 <u>Milking Doe 2 years and under 4 years</u> <u>Milking Doe 4 years and older</u>	Open Class 09541 09542 09543 09544 09545 09546 09546 09547 09548 09549
Senior Champion Doe	09550
Reserve Senior Champion Doe	09551
Grand Champion Doe	09552
Reserve Grand Champion Doe	09553
Section 04 - Alpine	Open Class
Jr. Kid born on or after April 1, 2024	09561
Intermediate Kid born between Mar. 1 and 31, 2024	09562
Senior Kid born between Jan. 1 and last day of Feb., 2024	09563
Dry Yearling 1 year and under 2 not in milk	09564
Junior Champion Doe	09565
Reserve Junior Champion Doe	09566
Milking Yearling 1 year and under 2	09566
Milking Doe 2 years and under 4 years	09569
Milking Doe 4 years and older	09570
Senior Champion Doe	09570
Reserve Senior Champion Doe	09571
Grand Champion Doe	09572
Reserve Grand Champion Doe	09573
<u>Section 05 - Saanen</u>	Open Class
<u>Jr. Kid</u> born on or after April 1, 2024	09581
<u>Intermediate Kid</u> born between Mar. 1 and 31, 2024	09582
<u>Senior Kid</u> born between Jan. 1 and last day of Feb., 2024	09583
<u>Dry Yearling</u> 1 year and under 2 not in milk	09584
Junior Champion Doe	09585

Reserve Junior Champion Doe	09586	
Milking Yearling 1 year and under 2	09587	
Milking Doe 2 years and under 4 years	09588	
Milking Doe 4 years and older	09589	
Senior Champion Doe	09590	
Reserve Senior Champion Doe	09591	
Grand Champion Doe	09592	
Reserve Grand Champion Doe	09593	
Section 06 – Recorded Grades		
	Open Class	
Jr. Kid born on or after April 1, 2024	09601	
Intermediate Kid born between Mar. 1 and 31, 2024	09602	
Senior Kid born between Jan. 1 and last day of Feb., 2024	09603	

Dry Yearling 1 year and under 2 not in milk	09604
Junior Champion Doe	09605
Reserve Junior Champion Doe	09606
Milking Yearling 1 year and under 2	09607
Milking Doe 2 years and under 4 years	09608
Milking Doe 4 years and older	09609
Senior Champion Doe	09610
Reserve Senior Champion Doe	09611
Grand Champion Doe	09612
Reserve Grand Champion Doe	09613

Best Doe of Open Show

Best Doe of Show

09614

► END OF DEPARTMENT F – DAIRY GOATS ◄

<u>Department G – Meat Goats</u> Junior Meat Goat Show

Cell: 217-820-5132

ANNOUNCEMENTS

PREMIUMS

ENTRIES

Junior Show Entry Fee is \$5.00 per head.

Additionally, each Livestock Exhibitor must purchase a \$30.00 Exhibitor's Pass. Additional passes may be purchased for helpers, fitters, groomers, etc. for \$30.00 each.

Checks should be made payable to the Du Quoin State Fair.

Special Note: There will be no refunds of Entry Fees or Exhibitor Passes under any circumstances.

Entry forms may be secured through the State Fair Entry Department at 618/542-1509 or 618/542-1525 or at the State Fair website www.duquoinstatefair.net. *Entry forms* should be mailed to the Du Quoin State Fair, Competitive Events, 655 Executive Drive, Du Quoin, IL 62832.

All entries *must be* postmarked by August 9, 2024. Late entries will be accepted with a late entry fee of \$50.00 per head until 4:00 pm August 16, 2024. *Positively no entries will be accepted postmarked after August 16, 2024.*

SCHEDULE

Pens Available	12:00 noon, Friday, August 23
Animals Must Be in Place No Later Tha	n8:00 am, Saturday, August 24
Animal Check-in and Weighing	begins at 9:00 am, Saturday, August 24
0 0	begins at 2:00 pm, Saturday, August 24
	after Show, Saturday, August 24

DEPARTMENT RULES

- Each exhibitor *must* comply with the Illinois Exhibition Health Requirements; Animal Care, Drug, Testing and Welfare Policies; and General Rules of the Livestock Division as previously stated.
- 2. Pens will be available on a first come, first served basis.
- 3. Commercial Doe classes will be divided by age and weight. Class breaks will be made at the sole discretion of the Department Superintendent.
- 4. Wethers and Market Does *must* have been born after October 1, 2023, must still have their milk teeth and *must* be physically sound at check-in and show times. Additionally, wethers *must* show no sign of testicular tissue. All of these requirements will be examined by the Superintendent who, along with the General Livestock Superintendent, shall have full authority regarding show eligibility.
- 5. Wethers and Market Does will be shown by weight classes. Animals will be placed into weight divisions and classes based upon weights taken at check-in. All class breaks will be at the discretion of the Superintendent. Exhibitors must check posted class assignments and be at the showring with his/her animal when the assigned class is called.
- 6. Do not enter Championship Classes.

SPECIAL AWARDS

<u>GRAND AND RESERVE GRAND CHAMPION MEAT GOAT DOE</u>: The Du Quoin State Fair will present a banner to the exhibitor of the Grand Champion Meat Goat Doe of the 2024 Du Quoin State Fair. Further, the State Fair will provide an additional premium award of \$100 to the exhibitor of the Grand Champion Meat Goat Doe and \$50 to the exhibitor of the Reserve Grand Champion Meat Goat Doe of the 2024 Du Quoin State Fair.

CHAMPION MEAT GOAT WETHER AND MARKET DOE: The Du Quoin State Fair will present a banner to the exhibitors of the Champion Meat Goat Wether and Champion Market Doe of the 2024 Du Quoin State Fair. Further, the State Fair will provide an additional premium award of \$100 to each exhibitor of the Champion Meat Goat Wether and Champion Market Doe, as well an additional \$50 premium award to the exhibitors of the Reserve Champion Wether and Market Doe.

DIVISION 1 MEAT GOAT SHOWMANSHIP

Junior Showmanship, exhibitors ages 8-12 Intermediate Showmanship, exhibitors ages 13-17 Senior Showmanship, exhibitors ages 18 and older Junior Class 08001 08002 08003

DIVISION 2 COMMERCIAL MEAT GOAT DOES

- 1. The purpose of the Commercial Doe Show is to exhibit commercial breeding stock. Commercial doe classes *do not* require registration papers. However, they *must have* a scrapie tag. The following additional rules apply for the Commercial Show:
 - a. Divisions are based on age and determined by teeth.
 - **b.** Classes will be broken by weight. The number of classes in each division will be determined by the number of entries per division.
 - **c.** The top two (2) animals from each class will move forward to the division Champion Drive and the first and second place doe from each division will move into the Grand Champion Drive.
 - **d.** Fitting is allowed and is at the discretion of the showman. However, adding 'hair' by use of foreign material *will not* be allowed and will disqualify the animal.
 - e. If an animal's tooth is missing, the animal will be moved to the next division.

	Junior Class
Light Weight Classes (with all milk teeth)	
Class A	08010
Class B	08011
Medium Weight Classes (with two permanent teeth)	
Class A	08012
Class B	08013
Heavy Weight Classes (with fouir permanent teeth	
Class A	08014
Class B	08015
Grand Champion Meat Goat Doe	08016
Reserve Champion Meat Goat Doe	08017

DIVISION 3 MEAT GOAT WETHERS

	Open Class
Light Weight Classes	
Class A	08020
Class B	08021
Medium Weight Classes	
Class A	08022
Class B	08023
Heavy Weight Classes	
Class A	08024
Class B	08025
Champion Meat Goat Market Doe	08026
Reserve Champion Meat Goat Market Doe	08027

DIVISION 4 MEAT GOAT MARKET DOES

	Open Class
Light Weight Classes	
Class A	08030
Class B	08031
Medium Weight Classes	
Class A	08032
Class B	08033
Heavy Weight Classes	
Class A	08034
Class B	08035
Champion Meat Goat Market Doe	08036
Reserve Champion Meat Goat Market Doe	08037

ILLINOIS WETHER SERIES (IWS) Meat Goat Wether Series Show

Saturday, August 24, 2024 30 minutes after Junior Meat Goat Show

RULES:

- 1. Series Shows are limited to youth 5-21 years of age as of January 1st of the show year.
- 2. Participation is not limited to Illinois youth. However, only Illinois residents can participate and accumulate points in the series.
- 3. Ethical fitting practices *must be* observed at all times.
- 4. Youth may enter and show a maximum of four (4) wethers at any individual show unless otherwise specified by a specific show.
- 5. Each entry will cost \$25 each animal at time of registration.
- 6. Wethers *must have* ownership declared before weigh-in and *may not* be entered or shown in another individual's name after being weighed-in.
- 7. Youth *must* show their own wether unless there are two or more wethers entered by the same individual in a particular class. This includes the champion drive.
- 8. Wethers *must* have all kid teeth still in place.
- 9. Wethers *must* be slick shorn to an even length above the knee and hock, but excluding the head and tail switch.
- 10. Wethers *may not* have any testicular tissue, exhibit behavioral signs of still being intact males, disbudded is preferred or encouraged but horns *are not* a disqualification.

- 11. The Coordinator of each individual show reserves the right to refuse entry into the show *to any animal* that exhibits a transmissible disease, fungus, etc., or to *any individual or family* not acting in an appropriate manner, as deemed by the show committee. In the case of such determination, registration fees, and/or any other costs associated with participation, *will not* be refunded.
- 12. The two highest placing wethers of an exhibitor will contribute to the Individual's ILWS points per show.
- 13. The accumulated points for all shows, will equal the total calculated points for the series.
- 14. The highest two-point totals at the end of the year, regardless of age, will be awarded Grand and Reserve Grand Overall respectively. The Grand and Reserve Grand will each receive a special award.
- 14. Prizes for each division will be awarded at the end of the show that day.
- 15. The ILWS reserves the right to drug test any animal exhibited in a series show for any illegal substances.

END OF DEPARTMENT G – MEAT GOATS

Thank you!

Du Quoin State Fair Thanks Our Generous Donors



WAYNE & JAMIE KELLER PANY and DON BAILEY BUY-A-FARM Awards... \$1.000 to the Grand Champion Female of the Junior Beef Show \$500 to the Reserve Grand Champion Female of the **Junior Beef Show** \$500 to the Supreme Champion Female of the **Junior Dairy Cattle Show** \$250 to the Champion Pair of Females of the **Junior Dairy Cattle Show** \$400 to the Grand Champion Gilt and \$200 to the Reserve Grand Champion Gilt of the **Junior Swine Show** \$400 to the Grand Champion Market Lamb and \$200 to the Reserve Grand Champion Market Lamb of the **Junior Sheep Show**

THE ILLINOIS BEEF ASSOCIATION Awards... \$500 to the Reserve Grand Champion Steer of the **Junior Beef Cattle Show** Z BAR H CLUB CALVES Awards... \$300 to Third Overall Steer \$200 to Fourth Overall Steer \$100 to Fifth Overall Steer **BRAMLET SIMMENTALS Awards...** \$500 to the Supreme Showmanship Champion of the **Junior Beef Cattle Show** THE FRANK BIGHAM FAMILY Awards... \$200 to the Overall Showmanship Champion of the **Junior Dairy Cattle Show** FRIENDS OF ED THOMPSON Award... \$400 to the Grand Champion Barrow of the **Junior Swine Show** SEED LIFE/BRIAN PITTMAN Awards... \$250 to the Reserve Grand Champion Barrow of the **Junior Swine Show**